We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28100 Franklin Road, Southfield, MI 48034-5514   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Another great Embassy Suite experience. Standard courtyard design, manager reception, and breakfast. Breakfast was probably one of the best I have had at an Embassy Suites. Service was good - nice size modern rooms. Not much near by but offices but convenient to the highway. Very reasonable rate if booked ahead especially on a holiday or weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review of your rencent stay with us. We are committed to the satisfaction of all of our guests. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our breakfast and I hope you enjoyed a cooked to order omelet as well. On behalf of the entire team we thank you for staying at Embassy Suites and we look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    104
    57
    61
    39
See reviews for
126
29
18
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lake county,illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights in Aug. 2012 while in town for the Woodward Dream cruise. Big suite,2 flatscreen TV,s Everything looked new or painted. GREAT Full breakfast ! Comfy bed,Really pleasant people, Really liked our stay !! A little noisy sometimes because of the expressway but not bad,easy access to Detroit casinos and about 15 minutes to Royal Oaks area of the Dream cruise.About 25 minutes to Ambassador bridge or the tunnel to Canada. Thanks Embassy, will be back next year !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

While the Southfield Embassy Suites is about a twenty drive to the Ford Museums both the morning and afternoon drives are opposite the rush hour traffic. During our visit the rates were less than $100 a night. There is excellent parking, the area is safe, and the staff very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are typical for the chain - some references showed 27" TVs but they are larger HDTVs. While it is an easy drive to tourist destinations strongly advise the use of a GPS if yo are not familiar with the Detroit area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive feeback .We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive to make every guests stay here wonderful. We hope to see you again next time you come to visit and thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Rented two suites for one night. Carpet and furniture was disgusting and filthy. Wallpaper was peeling, one of the sofa beds was broken and two people had to sleep on it. The pool area had paint peeling on the Walls and hand railings and several pieces of old gum stuck to the deck. The lobby had a very large piece of carpet that was rolled up and frayed it had obviously been that way for some time. Not what one would expect from a Hilton Hotel. I would not stay there agin.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Manager at Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I want to sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations. We are actively working with the housekeeping staff as well as the maintenance staff to refresh our guest rooms and to fix the broken sofa bed. I hope if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with is again. I appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We spent three nights in this hotel. Our suite contained a spacious sitting room with couch, armchair, ottoman, TV, table with four wooden chairs, microwave, small sink, small refrigerator, coffeemaker & packets of coffee. There was plenty of room to move around, spread out our belongings & make ourselves comfortable. The beautiful bathroom was very roomy, with a superabundance of fluffy white towels. In the bedroom, the king-size bed was comfortable & the ventilation system was quiet, unobtrusive & worked very well. The two closets had plenty of room for our clothes, shoes & luggage.

In the bathroom, a card explained the hotel's laudable policy: "Conserve to Preserve: A towel that is hung up means 'I'll use it again.' A towel on the floor means 'Please exchange.' " However, the bathroom had no place to hang wet towels! Because of the lack of towel racks, the cleaning service was oddly inconsistent about taking/leaving our used towels. In the morning, my husband draped his bath towel over the back of one of the wooden chairs in the sitting room, & the cleaning service left it there. My towel, which I'd hung on the hook behind the bathroom door, was taken. The following day, my husband draped his towel over the same chair, & it was taken. My towel, which I'd draped over the shower rod, was taken as well. There was no clear way to indicate "Leave my towel, as I'll use it again." It would help A LOT if the hotel replaced the nice framed picture by the tub with a set of towel racks.

Everything in the suite was quite clean EXCEPT for the table & chairs set in the sitting room. The upholstered seats of those four wooden chairs were covered in nasty-looking stains. As there were plenty of hand towels in the bathroom, we used those to cover the chair seats before we sat down. (BTW, those hand towels were left in place by the first day's cleaners, but removed by the second day's cleaners.)

The only other problem was the bedside clock. Its radio station was easy to adjust, & the alarm was easy to set, BUT there was no discernible way to set the clock to the correct time (!) Its time display was off by several hours. Unplugging the clock caused it to reset itself to 1:00. We hoped that the cleaning service might reset it, but they did not. Looking back on it, we could have called the desk about the clock, but we did not.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a great location if you plan to visit just about anywhere in Southeastern Michigan. As a frequent business traveler to Michigan, I've stayed at this property several times and have always found it to be reliable. WiFi works great, TVs are good quality, bed is comfy, bathroom is clean, and the breakfast is great. Their omelet chef was awesome, makes great custom omelets!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael K, Sales at Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review of your stay at Embassy Suites- Detroit Southfield. We are committed to the satisfaction of all of our guests and outragoeus service is our number one goal. We are delighted that you continue to stay with us when you are in the Detroit Southfield area. On behalf of the entire team we thank you for staying here and we look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield

Address: 28100 Franklin Road, Southfield, MI 48034-5514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDER-GOING A MULTI MILLION DOLLAR RENOVATION. COMPLETION IS EXPECTED MARCH 2015*** The Embassy Suites Detroit - Southfield is the only full-service, all-suite hotel in the center of it all. Our Detroit - Southfield hotel is just 20 minutes away from almost every metro area destination. Business and corporate guests find the volume of local and high-profile businesses in the hotel's vicinity impressive and convenient. Enjoy spacious, two-room suites equipped with all the amenities of home including two modern televisions, plush furnishings, a small kitchenette, and luxurious bathroom. Wake up every morning to a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, and cap off the night with our complimentary Evening Reception happy hour. Our friendly staff can address all your needs and will ensure a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you, and we hope you enjoy your Southfield stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Embassy Suites Southfield
Southfield Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Detroit Southfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.