We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit

Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27500 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034 (Formerly Hampton Inn Detroit / Southfield)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #15 of 19 hotels in Southfield
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pathetic hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 17 nights recently during my business trip. The renovation for one of the corridors was on for all 17 days and none bothered to clean the other portion of the hotel. For an extended stay, do not expect housekeeping staff to clean your room regularly. They will appear after 2-3 days only and wil clean the trash bin only when the bin is full. The hotel offer free breakfast and the menu remains same throughout. Couple of hotel staff members were really cordial and helpful though but looks like they can't help in improving the customer experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    44
    39
    33
    49
See reviews for
67
24
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

No AC in my room, beds were too small, whirlpool was cold, thin walls was awakened at 5am by guest etc

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are truly disappointed to learn that your experience at our hotel was not what you expected and deserved. We will share your comments with all of our staff so we can address these issues. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your experience was not as you had anticipated nor what we aim to create for our guests. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southfield hotels

Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was in Detroit for one night on a business trip. Normally I'm pretty easy to please, but this place was awful. I was there on a Wednesday night, and you would have thought it was a wild weekend night based on the behavior of the other hotel guests. They were running up and down the hallway, yelling at each other and banging on seemingly random doors. There was no intervention by hotel staff, from what I could tell. The hallway was littered with candy wrappers and other misc items (before and after the "party"). If that wasn't enough, I had a used bar of soap and a half empty bottle of shamooo in my shower, and the carpet in my room felt sticky. At breakfast the next morning, the housekeeping staff were discussing bugs "the size of a finger" while they cleaned up empty wine bottles that were hidden behind lobby furniture. Oh, and there was a cell phone salesman getting the staff to buy phones from him during breakfast. However, when I complained to the manager in an attempt to give him constructive feedback, I was offered a FREE night stay the next time I am in town...lucky me. I will not be staying here ever again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It is certainly regrettable that your recent experience was not more positive and we wish we had had the opportunity to address the cleanliness and any other issues you had at the time of your stay. We understand a hotel is not just the building but also the staff and the service that make it a great place. We are truly disappointed to hear that your interaction with our staff was not indicative of the level of service we strive to maintain. Please accept our apologies and know that the situations you spoke of will be addressed with the appropriate departments. We hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your trust should you return to Southfield for another visit. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

To begin with, we had a horrible time trying to find the hotel. The directions on mapquest were out of date and needed to add that it was on the service drive not the actual highway!!! After an hour of driving around, we finally found it. The staff was wonderful and helped with things we needed. The breakfast was great and was very well stocked. The pool, however, which was the main reason we picked this hotel was freezing! The hot tub wasn't much warmer. The beds were very comfortable but needed bigger sheets because they kept coming off. Also, it would have been nice to have the Disney Channel for my daughter. Thank goodness for free WiFi because she had to watch shows on our Kindle due to no kid friendly cable channels. The carpet seemed dirty and the bathroom could have used a good spray down, but the place overall was okay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
While we appreciate your kind words for our staff and our breakfast, we are certainly concerned to read about your negative aspects during your stay. Your comments regarding the condition of the pool will be shared with my Maintenance staff for the future. Thank you for alerting us, but we would have loved the opportunity to create a much better stay for you while you were here. Your comments are appreciated and we would hope for you to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Dear Management: Perhaps you should visit your rooms and remove the sub-standard ones from being rented? This could reduce the number of horrible reviews your inn is getting. I suggest you start with the room across from the plastic construction sheet. The one with wires hanging down from the ceiling above the door. The one that smells like smoky mold. The one with old yellowed wallpaper falling off the bathroom walls and something that looks like bloodstains behind the bathroom door. The one that has a very strong smell of mildew between the toilet and the bathtub. I don't think this is an issue that can be fixed by housekeeping: that room needs to be gutted and fixed inside and out. Until then you should not be renting it to guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It is certainly regrettable that your recent experience was not more positive and we wish we had had the opportunity to address any issues you had at the time of your stay. We strive to create an enjoyable and pleasant experience and hope you will give us that opportunity should you return for another visit. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was not a good experience. We booked a poolside room with our 2 kids. The first room we were given had a broken bed. Like literally leaning sideways. The next room was better but definitely not clean. The carpet is filthy everywhere. And forget trying to sleep. People were swimming with screaming children at all hours, even though I was assured the pool was only open to children from 9-9. I literally got no sleep.The pool water was murky and there are missing tiles everywhere around the pool. I would NOT recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It is certainly regrettable that your recent experience was not more positive and we thank you for your feedback so we can work on the mentioned areas. We strive to create an enjoyable and pleasant experience for all of our guests and are currently undergoing renovations in the pool and all public areas as well as the guest rooms. We hope you would give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit

Address: 27500 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034 (Formerly Hampton Inn Detroit / Southfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of home at our Baymont Inn & Suites Southfield/Detroit hotel. Located just off Interstate 696, discover convenient access to the best dining, attractions and shopping that the Southfield, MI are has to offer.Kick start your day with a workout in our fitness center and then fuel up with a free continental breakfast. Stay connected to what’s important with free Wi-Fi internet access. Go for a swim in our indoor pool and spa, then stop by our business center to finish up any work you may have. We also offer onsite meeting and conference space as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southfield Hotel Southfield
Hampton Inn Southfield
Southfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.