We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm, a good deal?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit

Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27500 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034 (Formerly Hampton Inn Detroit / Southfield)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Southfield
europe
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hmm, a good deal?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

When you look at the price you think "good deal," and it is, kind of.

The reception staff are friendly and I think they do their job fairly well. The cleaning staff are friendly and try to do what they can. However, the overall cleanliness of the property has a lot to be desired.

- clean the carpets - they are disgusting in many areas.
- clean the reception area furniture or BETTER replace it.
- clean the hallways
- clean the stairways - the one from the breakfast area to the 2nd floor was not cleaned the entire time I stayed, which was 4 days.
- clean the bathrooms completely e.g. behind the door, etc.

The property could use a nice renovation.

Although the staff were friendly and actually did their job well, I wouldn't stay here again nor would I recommend it simply because of the cleanliness issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We truly appreciate your kind words for our staff but we are certainly concerned to read about your disappointing stay. Your comments regarding the condition of the public areas are being shared with our Housekeeping Staff. We are currently going through renovations which will include new carpets, guest rooms, and lobby furniture as well as many other things, but the cleanliness in the meantime cannot be sacrificed. Your comments are appreciated and we would hope to be able to regain your trust during a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    42
    34
    31
    42
See reviews for
58
22
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ligonier
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was very disapointed in our stay in Detroit. The pool was dirty and the hot tub was discusting! The common areas (breakfast area, stairs, elevator, and hallways) were dirty. There seemed to be plenty of staff on duty for it to look like this. The air conditioning was not controllable. Without changing the setting, it went from too hot to freezing. I work in a Wyndham property with a lot less staff and we are spotless compaired to your hotel. There was two good spots to our stay. I had requested a refrigerator and microwave upon reservation. When we got to the room, it was not there. I talked to the front desk and within minutes the fridge and microwave showed up thanks to a very helpful man. The breakfast was very good except for 2 days they were without butter?? for the toast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
While we appreciate you mentioning that you enjoyed your breakfast and that our staff took care of your request immediately, we are certainly concerned to read about your challenging stay. Your comments regarding the condition of the public areas will be shared with our Housekeeping Staff. Thank you for alerting us. Your comments are appreciated and we would hope to be able to regain your trust during a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Vistining gamily during the weekend of 7/26th thru the 28th I was told that since I was staying for the weekend that they wont clean my room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We truly appreciate you sharing your experience. We do have full housekeeping service 7 days a week so I apologize you were given inaccurate information. I would like to know more details so we can look in to your situation. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I reserved this hotel through Priceline because they advertised it as a deal on a 2.5 star hotel (I didn't know the name ahead of time). I understand that it was a discount, but this place didn't even meet the minimum standards of cleanliness for a hotel. Our bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned, as there was hair on the floors and the previous guest's used soap and shampoo had been left in the shower! The tub also did not drain properly, and there was dirt and mildew in the corners. We informed the front desk the next morning and were assured that our room would be cleaned thoroughly, but the same dirt and used soap was still left in our bathroom. The carpets were stained, smelly and sticky throughout the hotel. If I ever got this room through a Priceline deal again, I would take the loss and go to another hotel. It was THAT bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are truly disappointed to learn that your experience at our hotel was not what you expected and deserved. It seems that there were many opportunities for us to create a much better atmosphere during your stay, and we apologize that after bringing your concerns to our attention they were not properly taken care of. We will share your comments with all of our staff so we can address these issues. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your experience was not as you had anticipated nor what we aim to create for our guests. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Sketchy breakfast. Up for three hours from 12-3 am with "noises". Passive front desk staff who seem ineffectual. No bed bugs thank goodness. Cheap. Get what you pay for. Free parking nice. Has potential. Needs a major face lift.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Director of Sales at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
It is certainly regrettable that your stay at the Baymont Inn & Suites was not more positive and we wish we had had the opportunity to address the issues you had at the time of your stay. We are truly disappointed to hear that your interaction with our staff was not telling of the level of service we strive to maintain and more importantly that you did not find them to be of any assistance. We hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your trust should you return to Southfield for another visit. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southfield Hotel
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southfield Hotel Southfield
Hampton Inn Southfield
Southfield Hampton Inn
Address: 27500 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034 (Formerly Hampton Inn Detroit / Southfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of home at our Baymont Inn & Suites Southfield/Detroit hotel. Located just off Interstate 696, discover convenient access to the best dining, attractions and shopping that the Southfield, MI are has to offer.Kick start your day with a workout in our fitness center and then fuel up with a free continental breakfast. Stay connected to what’s important with free Wi-Fi internet access. Go for a swim in our indoor pool and spa, then stop by our business center to finish up any work you may have. We also offer onsite meeting and conference space as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.