We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service Lives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit to your Saves list
Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27500 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034 (Formerly Hampton Inn Detroit / Southfield)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Lakeland, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Service Lives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here at the Hampton Inn. Everyone we met with a smile and only too willing to help wherever needed. The staff is as friendly and accommodating as one would find anywhere--better than most places these days.

Room Tip: The only thing that keeps this review from being excellent all the way through is the handicap room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Southfield during your recent visit to Southfield. I am overjoyed you had such a great experience! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We are continuously striving to improve our service and accommodations and we thank you for the feedback so we may continue to serve you in the future. Please come back and visit next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    51
    52
    47
    57
See reviews for
90
30
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Celina, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Clean. Bed comfortable but poorly made---rumpled. Great breakfast..... oatmeal, waffles, scrambled eggs with ham and cheese, sausage and bacon, fruit. Terrific
staff! ---quite friendly and went out of their way to be helpful..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to comment on your experiences at our hotel. I am pleased that most aspects of your stay you enjoyed but am sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience with the presentation of your room. I will most certainly follow-up and share your comments with my staff members so they can improve our guests' overall experience. Thank you again for providing this feedback so we can improve our services for future stays at our hotel. Please don't hesitate to come back and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We got in late (2am) after a long drive from Chicago. The check-in process was ok (not the friendliest staff). We arrived to our room, which was supposed to be non-smoking, but the room smelled of smoke. Our "lock" on our door (the one that you can only lock from the inside so no one can open your door) was ripped off the wall. Random people called our room several times looking for "their friends." The windows are not sound-proof at all- we heard everything going on outside. We have stayed at Hampton Inns in the past, but we will NEVER stay at this one again. It was a big let-down!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. The problems you mentioned regarding our rude front desk staff and the broken lock on your door have been immediately addressed. I am very sorry about the smoke smell in your room and have asked our housekeeping staff to freshen up the guest rooms. We appreciate you bringing this to us and we hope you will give our property a second chance if you return to the area. We would really love to have you back so we can show you what our Hamptonality is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southfield hotels

Arlington, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The property is typical of Hampton Inns: comfortable room and furnishings. It also has a large indoor pool and provides a substantial breakfast bar with varying hot food choices. What sets it apart is the attitude of the staff, which is uniformly helpful and willing to go out of their way for those staying there. My brother and I stayed for six nights and wanted a refrigerator in our room. When we checked in, they said all were in use but they would get us one as soon as one became available. The next day one was put in the room. Another time we came back in the afternoon before the room had been serviced wanting to spend some time in it before going out. The woman working a couple of rooms away saw us and asked if we wanted her to do our room right away. We said yes, and she stopped working on the other room and serviced ours.

Some reviews have said it is hard to find and their GPS got confused. The directions on the reservation confirmation are accurate, so if you follow them you will find it without much trouble. Those directions say driving from the Detroit airport to take I-94 east to US-24 (Telegraph Rd.) north. That is the most direct route, but hardly the fastest since Telegraph has a fair number of traffic lights. It is faster to either a) continue on I-94 east to M-39 (Southfield freeway) north to M-10 North (towards Lansing) to Telegraph north, or b) I-94 west to I-275 north to I-696 east to Telegraph north. Either of those is completely on freeways.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of one of the wings, low 100s in our case, should be quiet. Other rooms may be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed the hotel and our excellent staff. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed one night there while en route to Chicago on Aug,3,2012. Everything is fine, hotel is clean and everything was nice. Shower and toilet are clean, the bed and the linens are clean and had a sanitized smell. However, only thing we complaint about was the loud noise from the top of our floor which there was a large party at that night. We cant sleep until 4am due to people talking loudly above us. The freakiest part was we had one guy which was drunk banging at our door 7am in the morning and asking for his friend, I have call the front desk and it has been take care promptly.

Room Tip: Do select the top floor if you can so you can have a great sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. I understand that the noise was an issue during your time with us. We strive to have additional overnight managers available during high traffic periods to assure the comfort and safety of our guests. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you and your experienced. I do hope the next time you return to area you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel is located in remote location....but this is par for the course in Detroit area. You have to drive everywhere....but lots of free parking available.

Requested and assigned a "quiet" room on upper floor. Room was located immediately next to a secondary exit/entrance. Could hear door banging when someone entered or exited. First night sleep was not too bad....bed/pillows were really, really comfortable. Second night a very loud group was assigned a room opposite mine....kids running in hallways, banging doors etc. made it impossible to sleep before midnight. So basically there was too much noise in the halls and you could hear everything. It always amazes me that hotels cannot improve on the hallway noise, install better/solid doors with quiet closing mechanisms and ask guests to be quiet after 10 pm.

No bottled water in rooms. No in-room safe but front desk staff were very helpful and put my documents in safe-keeping at reception. Great water pressure, big flat-screen TV. Free Internet worked like a charm (YAY). Breakfast was included and pretty good...started at 6 am...eggs, bagels, cereal, pancakes, juice etc. Good coffee!

The excellent staff and the free Internet made me want to give this Hampton Inn an extra star...but the property is basically just average.

Room Tip: Upper floor...away from noisy entrance/exit doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we value your opinion. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast and internet. We do also have safety deposit boxes at the front desk and offer complimentary bottled water at your request. I hope you are able to take advantage of these if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for three nights June 1-4 2012. The first problem was with the size of the rooms. I had 5 registered guests in what was supposed to be a two queen bed room. Beds were not queens they were "fulls" at best. Looked like twins to me. Secondly laundry facilities-only the washer worked. Who can wash clothes without drying? It said contact front desk for other options. They didn't care. Third and most importantly were charges to my credit card. I had prepaid using hotels.com. When I was browsing through my bank account online I noticed there was a charge of $130.16. I have made SEVERAL calls to get this resolved. The first night was on my fiancee's credit card. They told me it was a mistake and that they charged my card instead. Well upon researching, my fiancee's credit card was also charged. I was told they have refunded the money to my card. This is 3 days later from my initial contact and still no credit has been forwarded onto my card. I have called and called. Accounting person was supposed to call me between 9 and 10 am this morning. it is now 11:30 with no call. This charge has caused my account to be overdrawn for more than a week. I'm getting charged $7 per day by the bank. They want me to fax a statement by the bank saying this is true. So I get to fax my bank account information to God knows who. If it takes 4 days to credit an account I can never end up with a positive balance which means I'm going to be out of pocket $7 for however many days it takes to credit it back to my account. Eventually the bank is going to freeze my card. I will never stay at a Hilton owned Hotel ever again!! I promise you that!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Assistant General Manager at Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the billing error that occured during your stay. After correcting the issue, it does depend on your financial institution and can take up to 5 business days to be reflected into your account. Again we apologize for the inconvenience, and were more than happy to assist with your overdraft fees. Your comments will help us to improve our policies and better serve our guests in the future. If you do need anything else, I would be happy to take your call at (248) 356. 5500. We hope you will consider staying with us again if you return to the Detroit so we can provide nothing less than a great stay for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit

Address: 27500 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034 (Formerly Hampton Inn Detroit / Southfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit 2.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of home at our Baymont Inn & Suites Southfield/Detroit hotel. Located just off Interstate 696, discover convenient access to the best dining, attractions and shopping that the Southfield, MI are has to offer.Kick start your day with a workout in our fitness center and then fuel up with a free continental breakfast. Stay connected to what’s important with free Wi-Fi internet access. Go for a swim in our indoor pool and spa, then stop by our business center to finish up any work you may have. We also offer onsite meeting and conference space as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southfield Hotel Southfield
Hampton Inn Southfield
Southfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn and Suites - Southfield/Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.