We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26000 American Drive, Southfield, MI 48034   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Package!
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Georgetown, Kentucky, United States
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed there for my husbands 30th birthday gift. He wanted to see a Detroit Tigers game and hit up American Jewelry and Loan. This hotel was super nice. Good and safe location. Pool and hot tub were very nice. Room was very clean and comfortable and kind of right in the middle of a lot of things. The only complaint I have was that they charged me not only a deposit that they did not inform me of (which is fine because they explained it to me when I asked them about it) but they overcharged me for the room by about 75 bucks. I had to contact them more than once to get it taken care of. It all balanced itself out within a week of checkout. If we are ever in the area again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    84
    36
    14
    13
See reviews for
48
27
17
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lacey, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This is the better Hilton property in the area. Was going through a refresh in November, so while 'in process', it was good to see things being spruced up. The hotel was therefore basically clean - where the refresh had passed. Hopefully the rest of the hotel will also improve. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I was able to relax in the room and not feel the need to go on a bedbug hunt.

The downside was the restaurant. The menu was old and even though it was being stated that there was a new cook, the food was bland and tasteless. About what one would expect from a mid-tier, business traveler in the midwest.

The team we had in town preferred this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken G, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel and restaurant. I understand that you were disappointed with your entrée, I have brought your comment to our culinary team and we are actively reworking our offerings with your recommendations in mind. The next time you are in area we would love to have you come back to see the changes we have made and provide feedback. Starting January 7th we are rolling out a brand new menu. Thank you once again for your comments.

Ken Graham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stay for 2 nights this past weekend. This property is clean and updated. Staff were friendly and very accommodating. The adjustable bed (for firmness) was a big plus. If we are in the Detroit area again, no hesitation in staying here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is under renovation but the lobby and bar area are looking good. We didn't eat in the hotel but asked the bar and resto staff for plates and wine glasses (wine and cheese in the room) and they happily supplied

The hotel is very close to the highway and the highway sounds are audible in the morning. But since we were getting up to go shopping, didn't affect us too much.

With the renos complete, the hotel would be closer to 4.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This location was very nice and well taken care of. The front desk staff upon arrival were extremely helpful. The manager was present and seemed to jump right in and help and not just supervise. It is a busy location during the week as many business travelers stay at this location. The work out facilities and indoor pool are nice. Overall I found this location to live up to the Hilton brand and will gladly return if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Clean, spacious room and very comfortable bed. Complimentary breakfast was more than I anticipated; fresh omelet of choice and awesome side dishes served quickly. Front desk staffers were wonderful and stored my finally-delivered lost luggage safely until I was there to retrieve it. This was my second stay at this hotel and I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Arriving early, my room was ready and no problems checking in. Room had a fridge, micro wave and coffee maker. Nicely decorated room, very comfortable. I did not notice any road noises as others had reported. Property looks well kept. Bar service was a little slow only because the poor bar tender had to race across the lobby to the restaurant area to order/pick-up food. He needed help. Included hot, by order, breakfast was well worth the extra $$. Nothing nearby so you have to drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield

Address: 26000 American Drive, Southfield, MI 48034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the NEW Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Southfield hotel in Southfield, Michigan our guests will find everything they need, including deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere. The Hilton Garden Inn is located 12 miles from Downtown Detroit and 20.5 miles from Detroit Metro Airport (DTW). We are only minutes away from major businesses such as; Blue Cross Blue Shield, Accenture Corporation, BASF, Charter One Bank, IBM, Lear Corporation, Daimler Chrysler, Denso North America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Hotel Southfield
Hilton Garden Inn Southfield
Hilton Southfield
Southfield Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.