We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin In Southfield” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Southfield Detroit to your Saves list
The Westin Southfield Detroit
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Town Center, Southfield, MI 48075   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Stockbridge, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Westin In Southfield”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel is nice and really set up for the business traveler. Only about 30-40 minutes from the airport and the concierge is helpful is setting up a taxi if needed. The staff was very responsive. The only drawback to this hotel are the food prices at dinner.

The breakfast buffet was more than adequate. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We love hearing that because of an enjoyable experience, our guests would consider staying with us again! Thank you for your kind remarks for our Associates; we will be sure to share them with everyone. It is unfortunate that you felt our dining prices were not acceptable and we will review your comments with our management team. We would be thrilled to have you stay with us again and we appreciate the time you took to share your story with us. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    153
    100
    49
    34
See reviews for
89
79
32
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Booked three rooms for family for the weekend. Although this hotel classifies itself as a business hotel, it is nothing short of a catered event nightmare. for three days there at least two events going on at the hotel. 100's of non-hotel guests milling about, loud music, and slow service. Valet service was practically non-existent (at $20 per day) due to the poor guy running around directing event parking. Restaurant service even for a coffee was slow.

Hotel itself was ok, aside from loud neighbors yapping and giggling until 4:30 am, and others smoking in a non-smoking hotel.

Not recommended, unless of course you enjoy the urban party scene.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
While our hotel does certainly welcome its fair share of business travelers, we do also welcome many leisure travelers and additionally cater to weddings, reunions, meetings and the like. We do apologize if any events that were occurring at our hotel created a less-than pleasant experience for you and we wish that you had reached out to us during your stay to alert us to your concerns. You are correct; our hotel is a 100% smoke-free facility and we apologize if that policy was not adhered to by others. We would love to welcome you back in the future where we can provide you with the rejuvenating experience our guests are accustomed to. Thank you for your review. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Southfield hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a nice hotel for business stay due to location. However, staff, food and service is very average. When there are any business/ college seminars in the hotel (or hotel is full), internet gets really slow. I had to use my mobile internet multiple time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
It’s always wonderful to receive the gift of feedback from our guests and we appreciate you sharing the areas of your stay that you enjoyed, as well as those that need our attention. We do apologize for the slow connection to our Internet during a very busy time at our hotel. We will be sure to share your comments with our Associates so that we may work to improve our service levels. Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon to The Westin Southfield Detroit. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My family stayed at the Southfield Westin on Saturday and Sunday night, 5/17 and 5/18/2014. The beds were very comfortable, the fifth floor where we stayed was quiet, but there were several annoying issues.
1. The roads leading to the hotel are in deplorable condition, i.e. Evergreen road, etc., prepare for a bone jarring ride.
2. My wife confirmed with hotel staff after she booked the room and was told we would be staying on the fifth floor. Upon arrival, front- desk staff issued key cards for a room on the sixth floor. Upon entering the room it was quiet obvious that someone else was staying in the room, as evidenced by toiletries in the bathroom, shoes left out and a suitcase in the room. Thank goodness we didn't walk in on someone with our five year old child! This may be an honest mistake but shows lack of attention to detail in my opinion. Housekeeping staff contacted the front desk and new key cards were issued and delivered to us for, you guessed it, the, fifth floor.
3. Key cards do not work consistently. That goes for unlocking the room and using the elevator. This is a safety concern and annoyance that should be resolved asap.
4. Only one thin bar of soap left on the bathroom sink, nothing in the shower/tub.
5. In my experience each hotel room has a phonebook and a binder or folder listing important hotel phone numbers, services, nearby businesses, etc. Both of these things were missing. Many hotel chains supply a cheap ink pen and pad of paper. My room had a small pad of paper, but like the phonebook and other hotel info, the pen was nowhere in site. More lack of attention to detail.
6. Piece of baseboard next to closet angled at base of wall unattached. A quick nail or glue would've fixed it.
7. If this was a nonsmoking hotel, it is not enforced. cigarette smoke reeked in the hallway outside of my room and I had to stuff a towel at the base of the door to block entry into my room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
It seems there several areas during your stay that could have been improved upon to provide you with the refreshing stay that you expected, and for that, we do apologize. Your comments have prompted us to re-emphasize with our staff the importance of quality customer service and we thank you for alerting us to your concerns. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future for a stay that closer resembles the Westin experience. Until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I am a Starwood Member and this hotel is only pretending to be a luxury Westin. The air conditioning is not working and my room is humid and has smells. When I called management they admitted they knew and could do nothing about it. The toilet won't stop running as well. Very poor performance for a Westin.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We certainly do apologize that your recent stay at our hotel did not meet the refreshing and rejuvenating experience we wish to provide each of our guests. We did have recent issues with our HVAC systems, and we hope that all components are now working properly. It would be our hope to be able to welcome you back in order to regain your trust in our brand and we thank you for sharing your concerns. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Reviews go back many years saying the key cards for your room don't work. Well they don't, and it is inexcusable for a hotel claiming to be a 4 star hotel to let this go on for this many years. It's obviously poorly managed. It's certainly a blemish to the Westin name. I arrived at 4pm, got to my room, noticed since the key didn't work, room service trays and wine glasses sitting along the hallway. After leaving at 11:30 am, they are still there, also an inexcusable thing for a hotel that claims to be 4 stars.

Had a rollaway bed delivered, left standing upright in the room, would it really have been that hard to fold it down. Again, service not on par with claimed ratings.

Powdered eggs on the breakfast buffet that weren't replenished until requested. "clean plates" that were dirty and had food on them. Bacon that was overcooked, burnt sausage. Great fruit tray, but again not replenished when empty.

The electrical outlets in the light to the left of the bed in room 1243 also didn't work.



Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We certainly do apologize for the challenging stay that you describe; this is not at all what we want our valued guests to experience. We encourage our guests to reach out to our Associates with any concerns that they may have, so we can immediately remedy any situation that is not acceptable. Your comments will be shared in order to help our Associates better know what areas need improvement and we appreciate your gift of feedback. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND RAPIDS
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Rooms are definitely not 4 star. Bar was also not the greatest. We left and went somewhere else for drinks. Customer service staff not trained to typical 4 star standards. Bathroom shower caulk moldy. Ceiling peeling and stained with yellow drips of goo. Wallpaper peeling.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your challenging stay. Your comments will be shared with our Associates in order to have your concerns addressed immediately. Please accept our apologies and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future for the refreshing stay that you deserve. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
1.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Southfield
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#9 of 19 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Southfield Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Southfield Detroit

Address: 1500 Town Center, Southfield, MI 48075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Southfield Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the quiet suburbs and only being 20 minutes from downtown, The Westin Southfield Detroit is near many Fortune 500 headquarters and with access to the Southfield Town Center's 5 corporate towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Starwood and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Southfield Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Southfield Detroit Hotel Southfield
Westin Southfield Detroit
Southfield Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Southfield Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.