We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Westin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Southfield Detroit

Save Saved
You added The Westin Southfield Detroit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Southfield Detroit
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Town Center, Southfield, MI 48075   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Southfield
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average Westin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I am a big Westin fan in general, but this one was merely mediocre, which is to say a bit below most other Westin's.

Typical Westin room, comfortable bed...but here are some areas I wasn't thrilled with.
I felt the bathroom was less than clean, there were shoe marks on the floor and some hairs
The room itself was a bit worn...torn up carpet, chipped furniture
The lobby and bar/restaurant area are very non-descrip, nothing to make you want to hang there
The elevators required a key...for any floor? Why? Area not safe?
A huge pet peeve of mine...treadmills that have tv's but the tv's don't work...not on one, but all
The fitness center itself was also a bit cramped

As a side note, there isn't a lot in the area, so unless your business takes you there, consider elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
It concerns us to read your review, as this is certainly not the experience we want for our guests. While we’re glad to read that you rested in comfort with our beds, we are truly disappointed that several areas of your stay were disappointing. We take the security of our guests very seriously even though the Southfield area is quite safe, thus requiring that only registered guests with keycards have access to our guestroom floors. We appreciate you alerting us to your concerns and we will have our Maintenance Engineers and Housekeeping Associates promptly look into the issues you mentioned. Thank you for sharing and we would hope to be able to welcome you back for a much improved stay in the future. Until then, stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    123
    74
    38
    24
See reviews for
67
64
30
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The price is reasonable for a high end hotel. The room is well appointed and quite comfortable. The restaurant has a warm atmosphere and the food is very good. The lounge was very active and has plenty of seating around the bar or at high-top tables. The indoor swimming pool and spa on the 3rd floor is a bonus. Starbucks in the lobby is also a nice touch. The parking garage was a little tricky to navigate but after a few minutes, I was able to find the hotel's rear entrance. I might consider using the valet next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Westin Southfield Detroit. We’re thrilled to learn that you received a restful night’s sleep on our Heavenly Bed and were able to take advantage of thoughtful amenities. Our Valet Associates would be pleased to assist you in the future and we thank you for your kind review. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Ohio
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was here for a wedding this past weekend. We drove from Ohio and the Hotel got us early check in, fast with no problems. The room was just perfect. Very clean....plenty of room. The bathroom was very roomy with DOUBLE shower heads. The reception was at the hotel. All of the staff was very courteous and constantly asked everyone if they needed anything and if we were enjoying ourselves. Very good experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We were certainly honored to have been a part of the enjoyable wedding you attended and we thank you for sharing your appreciation of the attention you received from our dedicated Associates. Knowing that your accommodations fully met your expectations makes us very happy and we look forward to greeting you again soon. Thank you for your wonderful review of The Westin Southfield Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel overall was very nice but the parking structure was so dang far from the room. We got lost trying to pick a hallway to go down..ridiculous. Some doors were closed or locked so we had to guess which way to go next.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
While we’re very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, we do apologize for any confusion you encountered when making your way to your room. We will share your comments with our Management Team in the hopes of finding a better to way to direct our guests from the parking facility. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Staff is very accomdating. Hotel is quiet. I love their room AC units. They are very quiet and not the usual jet engine blower. The rooms are big and clean. Bed was comfortable. Would definitely stay here again if in area.
The pool area would be my only complaint. As soon as we walked into the area, we smelled chlorine and our eyes started to burn. It appeared that the HVAC unit may not have been working. This is dangerous and should be corrected. Did not stay long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Southfield Detroit with us. Your kind words about our luxurious accommodations and amenities are certainly appreciated. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered in our pool area. There is no reason that you should have felt uncomfortable in that area and we will promptly look into why this was the case. Thank you for alerting us to this issue. We would love to welcome you back again in the future and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights on business. The office I was visiting was in the building, so it seemed to make sense to stay here even though the price seemed a little high for the area ($140/night). The rooms are in need of a refresh. The bathroom had mold growing around the edges of the bathtub and shower walls and the bathroom fixtures were pretty tarnished and it appeared they had not been cleaned in quite a while. Westin promotes the bedding and how comfortable it is, but I did not find the bedding to be all that comfortable. I'm also not sure why they put a heavy, thick duvet on the bed in the middle of the summer. The cooling system did not cool the room enough to even use the covers, regardless of the fact that I set it at 63 degrees. I also ate in the hotel restaurant twice. The food is not very good and the service is unbelievably slow. I was not impressed - I'll probably just stay at one of the other nearby hotels in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We do apologize that your recent stay with us was not at all what we expect for our guests. Our rooms are meticulously cleaned and we will be sure to alert our Housekeeping Associates as to the unacceptable condition of your room. Our luxurious comforters are placed on our Heavenly Beds throughout the year, being made available to guests that feel they need them and are easily removed from the beds for those that don’t. It is definitely disappointing to hear that your stay did not fully impress you and we hope to be able to welcome you back for the exceptional stay that you deserve in the future. Thank you and be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was very clean and the staff was great. Ignore the negative comments. I stayed because I was told by one of my cousins that is was a great place to stay. They were right I had no problems what so ever. I gave it a shot and I was not disappointed. I went to my uncles funeral on short notice and needed somewhere to stay close to the city. I would recommend this hotel. Plus it has free parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinSouthfield, General Manager at The Westin Southfield Detroit, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that your stay at The Westin Southfield Detroit added a bit of comfort to an otherwise challenging time during your visit to Detroit. Thank you for sharing how much you appreciated our attentive Associates and comfortable accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future during better circumstances and we hope you will pass our thanks along to your cousin for their recommendation. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Southfield Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Southfield Detroit

Address: 1500 Town Center, Southfield, MI 48075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Southfield Detroit 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the quiet suburbs and only being 20 minutes from downtown, The Westin Southfield Detroit is near many Fortune 500 headquarters and with access to the Southfield Town Center's 5 corporate towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Southfield Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Southfield Detroit Hotel Southfield
Westin Southfield Detroit
Southfield Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Southfield Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.