We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for work in Southfield, MI” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Marriott Southfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Detroit Marriott Southfield to your Saves list
Detroit Marriott Southfield
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27033 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for work in Southfield, MI”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is the hotel that my company always uses when we have meetings in the area. The rooms are okay, but you can tell they get a lot of use. The staff at this hotel have always been helpful and friendly, and there is a concierge lounge. The rooms are clean, but it is time for an update. It's a very good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDSGM, Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello,

I read your review and would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing the input. We always look for ways to improve as a facility and take your honesty seriously. Thank you sharing how friendly our staff is as we stive for excellent customer service at all times.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    79
    64
    38
    15
See reviews for
35
32
16
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. Was quiet and comfortable! There appeared to be a few wedding parties that were staying here but never heard a sound all night. Will stay again when traveling to town for business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very worn hotel, linens don't fit the beds, AC loud, carpets old and worn. In general needs major renovations.The restaurant is quite expense with very little good or healthy choices. Room furniture needs to be replaced.

Room Tip: away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDSGM, Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hell Dennis,

I read over your review and would like to thank you for your honesty regarding the state of our facilities. We thank you for staying here with us at apolgozie that your stay was not up to your standards. We strive in excellent customer service and I have forwarded your comments over the the proper departments so that we may get these issues resolved.

Thank you and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel had the best and plesant staff you could every want to have, and not only that they have the best cookies you could ask for.

I was very impressed with the house service we were at ease with the sanatiation or our rooms and the efficenicy of the staff. We plan on recomending Dubbletree to our friends and family . Thank you so much for making this a pleasant and fun time for us. By the way the Cookies were the Greatest!!

Room Tip: I was on the first floor and I slept great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had an awesome stay with friends from the city... We came to visit for a festival in Detroit... Had a ground floor room which was very convenient... Overall my stay was great.. The staff were friendly, fast and efficient. The cleanliness of the room I was impressed with... And the comfort of the bed one of the best...Just a few housekeeping problems I noticed... For example not replacing items after room has been cleaned, and not cleaning off the pullout tray where you make coffee..but if not for those minor issues we will be back...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great price with the amenities you'd expect at a large city Marriott. There was quite a bit of mold on the wall (see photo). No towels at the pool, cloudy pool water first thing in the morning. Nice open lobby. Just used this as a place to sleep while visiting Detroit so I didn't interact with the staff.

Room Tip: Next to the highway so no great views here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDSGM, Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello,

On behalf of the Detroit Marriott Southfield hotel we would like to thank yoy for staying with us; I do apologiize that your stay was not up to your standaards. Our staff strives in providing the best customer service for our guest and nothing less is unacceptable. I have shared your comments with the proper staff and departments and we are working on getting the issues resolved. The hot heat that we've been having is the result of the mold and the staff is working on fixing that as well as making sure our pool stays stocked with the proper amemities especialliy when we are sold out. I hope that you will stay with us again and this hasnt changed your mind or opinion on our services.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Overall it's a middle of the road Marriott experience. The hotel could use some updating; feels tired. The staff is professional and friendly, the bar area is comfortable and pleasant and the rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDSGM, Manager at Detroit Marriott Southfield, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello,

I read your review and would like to thank you for your honesty regarding our facilities and staff. We always stirve for excellent service and apologize that your stay was not up to your standards. We hope it hasnt changed your mind about our facilities and will stay again with us in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Southfield
1.7 mi away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit-Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 19 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Southfield

Address: 27033 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Southfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Detroit Marriott Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Southfield Hotel Southfield
Marriott Southfield
Southfield Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Marriott Southfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.