We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worse value for the money on the planet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tango's Bistro Westin

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tango's Bistro Westin
1500 Town Ctr, Southfield, MI 48075
(248) 827-1382
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 175 Restaurants in Southfield
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The worse value for the money on the planet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I would write "Terrible" but usually reserve that designation for establishments with inedible food or wait staffs that are openly hostile. Short of that, Tango's Bistro fits the bill. People are forced to eat here because they are captive - there are very few options in the area, unless you want to drive. The food is average and boring, the service is indifferent, and price is high. The buffet (for both breakfast and lunch) is equivalent to one you can get for free at a Drury Inn on Holiday Inn Express. I have been here many times, but on my last visit during a business trip I ordered the chicken tacos. The menu selection is limited. The service was slow. It required 3 requests of the wait staff (plus escalation) to get any bread rolls at the table. The food server did not know who ordered what. They forgot beverages at the table. The food itself was dry and plain. If there was ANY decent alternative close by that I could walk to, I would go. Wish the Westin would boot these guys or upgrade so it is consistent with the property. Also, I find it interesting the number of single reviewer 5 star ratings for Tango's...hmmm...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“BREAKFAST BUFFET”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Well worth the price of $16.95... if you left the property and went to a Bob Evans you probably would end up pay close to this in the end and not have as many choices.. juice and coffee included... omelets made to order..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food / Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Tangos is a hotel restaurant. I am a business traveler and end up here quite often for dinner. Can't find better service. The evening staff is friendly, attentive and efficient. They readily acknowledge return customers and drink / food preferences. The food is pretty good as well although the menus doesn't change much over the months. If you find yourself in the Southfield area I can recommend the Westin Tangos restaurant for dinner. Prices are in line with other hotel restaurants. I agree with some comments by other reviewers regarding less than stellar service by the breakfast staff and I have decided many months ago that it is not worth the hassle.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Literally, the most amazing service! The lounge attendants are attentive, genuine and conversational. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tango's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Tango's review Great atmosphere and service! Staff is friendly and very professional. Food is also really good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tango's Bistro Westin also viewed

 

Been to Tango's Bistro Westin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tango's Bistro Westin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.