We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After reading the reviews, it was better than expected.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marvin's Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marvin's Garden Inn to your Saves list
Marvin's Garden Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27650 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Butler, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“After reading the reviews, it was better than expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Small lobby. Hardly a "deluxe contenential breakfast" - juice milk cereal pastry coffee.
Rooms above the lobby (indoor rooms) are nice. Bathroom is nice, but small. No pool or "extras" but price reflects that. Not as hard to find as others indicated... those darned MI left turns!
Pretty quiet, but then again we were there during the week.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    6
    2
    8
See reviews for
7
7
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I live in the metro Detroit area, and would not want to stay at this hotel if I were visiting from out of town, due to safety concerns. There are many other hotels in Southfield that have not had the violence that this hotel has had, over the last few months and year.

Tip: Google the name of this hotel and "shooting" then "crime" and then "drugs"

Room Tip: Stay in well-lighted areas; protect your valuables.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherd, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was booked thru expedia and it was listed as a 3 star hotel. When we got there it did not appear to look like a 3 star hotel. But when we got into the room the room was much nicer than the outside appearance. Everything was just perfect. Slep well.

Room Tip: choose a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Don't let the photos fool you!!! This hotel was horrible! I felt very uncomfortable staying here, but I booked through hotels.com so I couldn't cancel & get my money back. We stayed in a room with a king sized bed. The room looked very old & the walls were horrible. There was a stinch in the room. It just didn't feel clean! The ONLY positive thing about this hotel was the bathroom. It was very nice & up to date. I would NEVER stay here again or recommend this place to anyone!!!!

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the pictures!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, UT
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I chose this place based on the customer reviews, what I found was completely opposite. The room smelled bad, like a casino gambling floor. The cont. breakfast is a joke, a small area that three people would have a hard time fitting in. check-in was a joke, the doors were locked for security and I had to check-in through a secuity glass, who wants to stay in an area where they lock the front door for security and you are standing outside looking over your shoulder.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Thank God we didn't bring our grandchildren into this room. Yes they have a beautiful granite bathroom with a jetted shower, but to have all of the tv channels above #36 be pornographic was quite disturbing. There was no warning, we were flipping through the channels and suddenly there were sexual acts being performed on tv. We kept flipping upward through the numbers thinking we would get beyond the sex channels, but there must have been a dozen of them. This made me wonder what kind of hotel we were in.

The other big problem was the smell of cigarette smoke. It seemed the smell was coming from the air conditioner, but it was too hot not to run it. The people staying next to us got another room because of the smell of smoke in their room.

The reason the rating isn't lower is that my husband was quite taken by the bathroom that was all granite and the showers that were jetted but for me this did not make up for the unblocked adult channels and the smell of cigarette smoke. The price was modest and they did provide a modest breakfast, but I wasn't comfortable in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel was very good for the time that you are in it. The rooms were clean and new granite bathroom, with granite in the hallway. Water pressure and temp was good in the shower. Had some problem taking the right toad to get to it, but after one mistake, you learn and we did not do it again. On checking in the receptionist was very friendly and helpful and we had no problems with the check in or check out. The continental breakfast was only open to 9 and that could have been extended another hour or so. We did arrive a bit late one morning and the receptionist did get us some bagels to toast, which was very nice of her. We had three nights there and I thought the price was quite reasonable. They do not have a pool nor a restaurant, but eating facitilites were close by, plus we ordered in pizza one night. They did not have any table and chairs set up outside which would have been nice because it was a beautiful weekend, but I guess we were not there long enough to enjoy if they did. All in All, I would go back there.

Room Tip: won't hurt to try to see if your room can be changed upon check in..you never know what they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marvin's Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marvin's Garden Inn

Address: 27650 Northwestern Hwy, Southfield, MI 48034
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marvin's Garden Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marvin's Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marvin`s Garden Hotel Southfield
Marvins Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marvin's Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.