We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better pancakes anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Original Pancake House

Original Pancake House
19355 W 10 Mile Rd, Southfield, MI 48075-6596
248-357-3399
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 175 Restaurants in Southfield
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Drums, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No better pancakes anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

No doubt the best pancakes I ever ate in a restaurant. Prompt service even when super busy. There was a line and a short wait time but well worth the wait. Excellent breakfast! Reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best pancakes ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were a little nervous about the location, but went in anyway. My daughters thought that these pancakes were the best that they had ever tasted. Light, fluffy and held the syrup well. The omelette that I had was huge and tasted great. The bacon was very thick and tasted awesome. Good price for the meal provided.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Thanks for very good service and food. I will stop in the next time I stay in Southfield. Pancakes were by far the best. The staff was very nice and attentive. I almost had to tell them not to come back to my table :). Thanks again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Breakfasts Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

For the best breakfasts in Southfield, nothing compares to the Original Pancake House. Excellent fresh ingredients cooked just right. Attentive service, even though there are lots of diners at lots of tables. Our family likes the Dutch Baby Treat, potato pancakes, or pecan waffles, but there's also an array of omelets (big!), pancakes, eggs, beverages, and side dishes. Take your pick from the big menu. The place is open only during breakfast hours and gets crowded at certain times, such as when churches let out on Sunday. But if there's a line, it goes fast, and the wonderful food is worth the wait.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“And I thought they only served pancakes....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hadn't been to this old Michigan tradition before - my loss. We had a morning business meeting and turns out so do lots of other people. The staff was super friendly, and many people in the restaurant knew each other. Fast, efficient, and delicious food. We were both trying to be "good" so we had old fashioned oatmeal and omelets. Great price. Lots of menu choices. Now I had a new neighborhood treat - too bad I resisted it for 5 years.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Original Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Pancake House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.