We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Lorraine's Cafe & Bar

Sweet Lorraine's Cafe & Bar
29101 Greenfield Rd, Southfield, MI 48076-5884
2485595985
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Lorraine's Cafe & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 175 Restaurants in Southfield
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Edwards and 12 Mile Rd.
Description: World Beat Cuisine with a consistent dose of creativity, an ever-evolving, unique & mouth-watering menu of completely satisfying items that will have you counting the hours before you return. A fantastic selection of daily specials, house-made soups, pastas, seafood, steaks, vegetarian and gluten-free offerings - inspired by exciting ethnic cuisines.Favorites include Five Spice Calamari to Avocado Crab BLTs, and Pecan-crusted Chicken breast as well as a wonderful selection of fresh-baked desserts including Apple Brown Betty...Delicious!Think about Sweet Lorraine 's for brunch, lunch, dinners and special events (from family gatherings to social & business meetings - Sweet Lorraine's will be happy to accommodate your group).
Novi, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The food at Sweet Lorraine's is eclectic, fun and delicious! There is always a surprise with a slight twist on what you might expect; but the food is consistently wonderful! And the desserts. . .to sum it up, I will share a story we were told about "regular" customers who come in, order their full meal and dessert--and have the dessert delivered first so as not to miss it! I think that says it all! Our server was Chianne--she has the brightest and most welcoming smile I've ever encountered. She has a great sense of humor and is fabulous at her job. A true asset to Sweet Lorraine's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    43
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“When in town, I go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Luv, luv, luv this place! When in town for business, Sweet Lorraine's is always at the top of my list. The Pecan Chix and Gorgonzola/Cherry chix are winners. The desserts never fail to impress. Great eclectic atmosphere and a place I always bring business partners I travel with to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A gem in unexpected place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Not much to do in Southfield, but had a business meeting here. A colleague Googled for good places to eat and that's how we found Sweet Lorraine's. It's an eclectic, global-flair, farm-to-table concept restaurant where the menu is quite varied and extensive: everything from burgers to salads, mac and cheeses, but all with a gourmet twist. We ordered lobster mac and cheese as an appetizer for our party of 4 and it was amazing. We left nothing! Then they served just-made focaccia bread--melt in your mouth flavor. I ordered a special of two chicken tostadas, which were topped with a mountain of lettuce, tomato, salsa and guac. They broke, of course, but I ate it all off the plate. One guy had a burger, which he couldn't finish, another gal ordered this chicken kabob salad where the skewers showed up in tepee fashion. The desserts? Again, familiar pieces but with a twist. We were all so full, so we ordered the margarita key lime mousse pie to share. It vanished. Excellent service, extensive wine list and specialty beers/drinks, very good food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Poor service, long waits, high prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is good, nice ambience. But it takes forever to get your meal. The food is nice but nothing special and somewhat overpriced. The hype must be based on past performance, they are not high on my list of good local restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great date”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Everything was very good, this a great place for a date (first or long time couple). It wasn't cheap and the food wasn't amazing but it's a great atmosphere. It feels cool hence the date appeal. It was good enough to go back but expensive enough to not go often. It gets busy, looks like barely any tables around 7 PM Friday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Lorraine's Cafe & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Lorraine's Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Lorraine's Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.