We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and pleasant, but very noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28555 Northwestern Highway, Southfield, MI 48034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Clean and pleasant, but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

I stayed here one night for business in Southfield. The hotel is clean, front-desk staff is pleasant and helpful, and rooms are spacious and well-equipped. However, because room rates are so low, breakfast is provided for free, and there are kitchen amenities (microwave, fridge) in the rooms as well as a pool in the hotel, lots of families stay here, so it's not a good environment for business travelers trying to work in their rooms. The night I was there, kids were running up and down the halls, pounding on each other's doors, shouting and laughing. The next morning at breakfast, everything was pandemonium as a dozen kids or more ran amok. So, even though this hotel was perfectly clean and well-run, if I needed to be in Southfield again on business, I'd probably choose another hotel catering more to the business traveler.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    13
    10
    5
See reviews for
37
12
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Great staff...friendly staff who rally care about your staff, from front desk to housekeeping.
Tawana is fantastic at making sure everything is to your liking. Clean rooms, good location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Very nice hotel with all the amenities you could ask for!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

property was very well maintained, extremely clean. rooms were
very nice,with comfortable beds and all the amenties. The senior rate was a good value. Good safe area, quiet also. Free
breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful..Would stay there again and would definetly suggest to anybody.

  • Liked — good value for the money
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

My family stayed at Springhill Suites to attend the funneral of a family member. I contacted the hotel directly and was able to book six rooms immediately, even though the website said that none were available. The front desk Representative (Twanna) was so helpful and even told me about the bereavement rate offered by the hotel. When my family checked in at different times, the rooms were ready and they even baked fresh cookies for all the guest. The rooms are very nice and spacious, and the bed was unbelievable the most comfortable I have experienced. In the morning the complimentary hot breakfast is a nice treat with not only bagels, but eggs, sausage and waffles. I definitely recommend this hotel to all. I can see why it's rated #1 on TripAdvisor.com.

  • Liked — The courtesy of the staff
  • Disliked — No Bar
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

Our family with 3 kids (ages 8, 8, and 13) stayed here for a single night prior to going to the Henry Ford Museum. For $85 it was a very good value and had enough room for all of us. There was some noise from some folks on our floor but with a call the front desk it was taken care of. It was crowded at the hotel but it was a holiday weekend as well.

  • Liked — Perfect size room
  • Disliked — Wireless internet wasn't working
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

We booked a suite for a stay in the Detroit Area for a Red Wings weekend trip. A good value, especially with my military discount as an Army Vet. Easy access to the Lodge freeway (10). Great desk help. Check in was a nice experience, very polite. Rooms were nicely decorated, good size, and quiet. The pool/spa area was small and could have been cleaned a little more, but sufficient for a business hotel. Breakfast was awesome. I definitely will try to book again.

  • Liked — Value, Friendly Staff, Location, Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nit Picking here, but pool/spa area should have been cleaner.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield

Address: 28555 Northwestern Highway, Southfield, MI 48034
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Springhill Suites Southfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.