We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again! Beware!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28555 Northwestern Highway, Southfield, MI 48034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never again! Beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

OK, the good first. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff is friendly.
Then, the bad. Despite being friendly the staff is inept at solving problems. This hotel is VERY NOISY with lots of kids running around screaming. Even adults were having loud arguments in the hallways at night. The walls are very thin and you hear everything (I don't need to know what is going on in the room next door). We called the front desk no less than FOUR TIMES asking for help about the noise. They apologized and did NOTHING! We were not offered to move to a different room despite plenty of available rooms at the hotel (we inquired the next day). We were promised an email from the manager which, of course, never arrived. Again, unwilling staff to do anything about complaints.
The king sized bed was OK, but the sleeper sofa was lumpy useless. About as comfortable as sleeping on the floor.
The pool is really and over-sized bathtub. The pool area is not stocked with towels, probably because the pool itself was filled with about 60 children. YES, I counted! Needless to say we were unable to use the pool. Only one treadmill, only one stair climber, only one exercise bike. Again, no towels and the equipment was dirty, so we left without using it.
Save yourself a headache and stay at one of the other hotels in the area!

Room Tip: NOISY with thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Springhill Suites by Marriott during your last visit to Southfield, Michigan. We understand that you have a choice when you travel, and we’re so glad that you chose us for your accommodations. It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us.

Every day our team work hard to exceed our guest's expectations, as our goal is to not only meet all of our guest's needs and expectations, but to also exceed them. After reading your review I do see that this time, this did not happen and for that I apologize. I have addressed your comments about noise and follow through with the staff and moving forward hopefully we have corrected these service and quality short falls. I am the new manager here and started after the date of your stay so I apologize that you were not contacted after such a challenging stay.

We appreciate all feedback to the hotel so that we can communicate your feedback to our staff, as every comment back to us, both positive and negative, will only make us stronger as a team and help us to improve all areas of the hotel. Thank you again for staying with us and it is my hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    15
    10
    6
See reviews for
39
13
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We like SpringHill Suites but this was a terrible experience. This is a very noisy hotel. When the room next to us decided to party and smoke, the front desk was afraid to do anything so we were moved next to the noisy elevator. The noise from various guests continued well after midnight. Beds were very uncomfortable. Beware! Especially if you are staying here to sleep. If this is one of the best in Southfield then try another town.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Springhill Suites by Marriott during your last visit to Southfield, Michigan. We understand that you have a choice when you travel, and we’re so glad that you chose us for your accommodations. It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us.

Every day our team work hard to exceed our guest's expectations, as our goal is to not only meet all of our guest's needs and expectations, but to also exceed them. After reading your review regarding the noise you experienced at the hotel we wanted to respond to ensure you we are working to improve this item at the hotel. We have been working with the staff to be more efficient in responding to guest complaints, and we have hired some additional staff to be more proactive regarding noise rather then reactive. We hope these improvements will improve our guests stay overall and we look forward to receiving feedback from those most important to us, our guests. Thank you very much for your feedback, feedback such as yours only helps us to improve our hotel for the better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, TN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I made my reservations but due to husbands admission into the hospital we had to cancel, for no other reason than illness. Company would not allow cancellation but charged for the room anyway.

By phone they told me it was cancelled, but it is being charged to me, anyway. Never Again - such crooks

Room Tip: Be very careful, if you must cancel due to illness you are still charged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Good Afternoon Dee,

I am sorry to hear about your recent troubles with us. Every day our team work hard to exceed our guest's expectations, as our goal is to not only meet all of our guest's needs and expectations, but to also exceed them. After reading your review I do see that this time, this did not happen and for that I apologize. I would be more than happy to speak with you regarding this charge and the cancel fee if you would like to contact the hotel and ask for the General Manager. It is my hope you will choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had taken a few years off from staying here. But after terrible heating and cooling system at a nearby sister hotel, we returned. At first we were given a room two feet from the breakfast area and un-enclosed ice machine. When moved to a room on the 2nd floor near behind the front desk, we were very content. The did mention that there was the possibility of noise from the laundry but we never heard it. It was a very quiet experience and the thermostat worked as expected.

Room Tip: As far from the breakfast room as possible, generally lower numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the SpringHill Suites Southfield. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we are very happy to see that your stay was so great. We really try to not only meet the guest's needs but exceed them and it is great to see that you were satisfied with your stay. I will share your comments with the staff as a job well done. We hope to have you stay with us again. Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Southfield and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stay in Southfield in the Telegraph Rd / 12 Mile Rd area a few times a year and have used many of the local hotels. This was our first stay at the Springhill Suites, and it's our new favorite in the area. The hotel seems quite new, and it is in very good shape. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers a nice complimentary breakfast and has free wireless internet in the guest rooms. Right next door is a Tim Horton's and a Leo's Coney Island.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the SpringHill Suites Southfield. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we are very happy to see that your stay was so great. We really try to not only meet the guest's needs but exceed them and it is great to see that you were satisfied with your stay. I will share your comments with the staff as a job well done. We hope to have you stay with us again. Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites Southfield and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

the amorous couple next door to me tested the lack of thickness of the walls. also loud patrons at 130 in the AM on a Monday night in the halls.

Room Tip: avoid staying next to any other occupied room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSHSSouthfield, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for staying at the Springhill Suites by Marriott during your last visit to Southfield, Michigan. We understand that you have a choice when you travel, and we’re so glad that you chose us for your accommodations. It was our pleasure to have had you stay with us.

Every day our team work hard to exceed our guest's expectations, as our goal is to not only meet all of our guest's needs and expectations, but to also exceed them. We as a team are working very hard to get a handle on the noise you had experienced during your stay. It is our hope this has not affected your image of the hotel and will choose to stay with us again in the future. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Ive been staying here on a eegular basis since 2006. I don't want to stay anywhere else...the location, value and customer service can't be beat! However, it's been about 6 mos since my last stay and the attention to detail is slipping. The staff took care of the issues and issued me 2000 bonus points. So I'll go back and am hopeful it will have improved.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield

Address: 28555 Northwestern Highway, Southfield, MI 48034
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Springhill Suites Southfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Detroit Southfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.