We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Detroit memorial visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Southfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Southfield to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Southfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24977 Northwestern Highway, Southfield, MI 48076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Bellaire, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Detroit memorial visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were in the Detroit area for a friend's memorial to be held at the Detroit Institute of Arts and the most affordable with parking was the Comfort Suites in Southfield. The lobby was pleasant and our checking was easy. The room was clean, nice sized, and everything was in working.
Going back to the front desk to ask about the best way to downtown Detroit, DIA is downtown on Woodward and my GPS seemed to drive us in circles. A young man whose name I donot remember was very helpful he gave directions and then printed out a google map for us. The ten mile trip was painless. I saw him the next morning and we talked about an upcoming visit he had planned to Chicago ( a town I know better than Detroit) we had a good conversation. If it had not been for the reason for this trip( the death of a friend) It would have been a great trip. Helpful people, a good breakfast at the hotel, a nice hotel all make for a good trip any where.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
It is with such pleasure to read such kind words of praise during your recent stay at our hotel. We hope the next visit to the Metro Detroit area is under different circumstances.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Warm Regards,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    24
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
7
4
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Nice place to stay and rooms clean easy to go out and back people very good to help you spicily Mr. carol he is very gentlemen and he try to help you as match as he can i stayed one week was rear nice and quiter place to stay in no smoking allowed good breackfast inter net v-good......my next vist i will say ther

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Such a beautiful review acknowledging our property and staff; especially Carol, our front desk agent. He is a great asset to the property along with all of our staff. We hope to see you soon during your next trip to Detroit.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Warm Regards,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. We were in town to visit my son at LTU. Although the hotel is undergoing renovations, it was quiet and restful for the most part. The room was clean and had plenty of seating for visiting. Breakfast was decent, even for vegetarians, and the woman who runs it was efficient, helpful, and friendly. The staff was very pleasant, and Carlo was especially nice to deal with. The cleaning staff forgot to pick up the tip we left one day, but we were able to give it to the woman at the desk, who promised to forward it to housekeeping. We were even able to stay for an extra, unplanned night when it looked like the weather would be bad on the way home. We will be back for our next trip to Southfield.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Such a pleasure to have received your wonderful comment pertaining to your recent stay with us. We were delighted you choose to stay with us while visiting your son at Lawrence Technological University. Our #1 commitment to our guests is to provide outstanding customer service. I am glad to hear that our entire staff provided exceptional service to you and your husband.

Our renovations are currently in progress and we are hoping to be done by the end of May. We are glad to hear that you will be back during your next trip to Southfield!!

See you soon!

Warm Regards,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at this hotel. As mentioned in the title, it was quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was really good for "free hotel breakfast" and staff members were all courteous and attentive. The only slightly disappointing thing was that I didn't have an alarm clock in my room (room 210), so I had to fumble around for my phone in the dark to find out what time it was. Other people traveling with me, however, had alarm clocks in their rooms. I was pleased to see that there were 2 outlets on top of the nightstand (on the base of the lamp), so I could charge both my work and personal cell phones within arms reach of the bed. Overall, I would say that this was a nice place to stay for a quick business trip.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
It is greatly appreciated that you have taken the time out of your day to review our property. We are pleased to hear that your recent stay was "quiet and comfortable". We do apologize for not having an alarm clock in your room, it was over-looked during our inspection.

Customer service is one of our main priorities along with cleanliness and our amenities that we offer to our guests. We hope that during your next visit to our area that your choose our property for your lodging needs.

Warm Regards,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Wife and I stayed 2 nights in December 2013. Room was big and very well kept. The pool looked brand new, and new furniture. Breakfast was great. Best part of the stay was Carlos at the front desk. We will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that our accommodations met your expectations. Our pool was recently remodeled and looks extremely cozy and comfortable for our guests to enjoy.

Carlo has been a great asset to our property and has been recognized for exceptional customer service for several months.

We look forward to your next visit with us to the Metro Detroit Area.

Sincerely,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My family convene to Detroit the Friday after Thanksgiving for the weekend. This has become an annual event for the last seven years; only one year we deviated from Comfort Suites and quickly found our way back!!The experience is wonderful from the beginning with Group Booking to check out. The staff is well trained in hospitality. The rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained.They also offer handicap accessible rooms for those in need of.The property decor is appropriate and well kept.Pool area well maintained. The breakfast buffet is well balanced with a variety of choices.The location is ideal for out of town guest to easily access freeways to get around city. There is a good selection of restaurants and small stores close by for those who do not wish to adventure too far.The property is also very secure with lighting and security guard in the evenings.A great place to stay that does not break the bank.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We certainly look forward each and every year to your family visiting the Metro Detroit area. As always we were honored to see all of you. Thank you for your kind words praising our staff service, cleanliness and security. We work hard to ensure that all of our guests are having an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to seeing you next year!

Happy Holidays,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a nice hotel with friendly helpful staff. Comfy beds, fridge, microwave and coffee maker are in the rooms I really like that his hotel is right off the Lodge and Ten Mile road. it is easy in and out of the city of Detroit on the totally redone Lodge Freeway (10). The Lodge which runs on a diagonal to Detroit means you travel southeast into Detroit saving time and distance rather than just east-west then north-south. It only takes 12 minutes to get downtown unlike most suburban hotels where you struggle in traffic. You have access to all freeways once in Detroit so you can go wherever you want quickly. Concerts, restaurants, bars and attractions are closer than they seem whenever you are on the Lodge.

Room Tip: No way! That's my secret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be your hotel of choice when traveling to the Southfield/Detroit area. We are glad that our friendly staff and comfortable rooms made your stay an enjoyable one. Our location is located right off the freeway, which you mentioned, with easy access to Downtown Detroit.

We would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel and look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm Regards,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Southfield

Address: 24977 Northwestern Highway, Southfield, MI 48076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Southfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
~~80 Spacious Newly Renovated Suites, including 8 Jacuzzi Suites and 2 Executive Suites~~"Truly Yours" Bedding~~Microwave, sofa sleeper, refrigerator, iron & ironing board, coffee maker, hairdryer, wet bar, safe and full size desk~~37" flat screen televisions~~Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the entire property~~Complimentary deluxe hot breakfast~~Indoor heated swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center~~Coin operated guest laundry and a dry cleaning service~~Complimentary USA today~~Choice Hotels "Choice Privileges" program~~Complimentary parking~~100% Smoke Free Environment ~~Restaurants within 2 blocks of the hotel~~Hertz Car Rental virtual kiosk on site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Southfield Hotel Southfield
Southfield Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Southfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.