We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Southfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Southfield to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Southfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24977 Northwestern Highway, Southfield, MI 48076   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at this hotel. As mentioned in the title, it was quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was really good for "free hotel breakfast" and staff members were all courteous and attentive. The only slightly disappointing thing was that I didn't have an alarm clock in my room (room 210), so I had to fumble around for my phone in the dark to find out what time it was. Other people traveling with me, however, had alarm clocks in their rooms. I was pleased to see that there were 2 outlets on top of the nightstand (on the base of the lamp), so I could charge both my work and personal cell phones within arms reach of the bed. Overall, I would say that this was a nice place to stay for a quick business trip.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
It is greatly appreciated that you have taken the time out of your day to review our property. We are pleased to hear that your recent stay was "quiet and comfortable". We do apologize for not having an alarm clock in your room, it was over-looked during our inspection.

Customer service is one of our main priorities along with cleanliness and our amenities that we offer to our guests. We hope that during your next visit to our area that your choose our property for your lodging needs.

Warm Regards,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    29
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
33
7
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Wife and I stayed 2 nights in December 2013. Room was big and very well kept. The pool looked brand new, and new furniture. Breakfast was great. Best part of the stay was Carlos at the front desk. We will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that our accommodations met your expectations. Our pool was recently remodeled and looks extremely cozy and comfortable for our guests to enjoy.

Carlo has been a great asset to our property and has been recognized for exceptional customer service for several months.

We look forward to your next visit with us to the Metro Detroit Area.

Sincerely,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My family convene to Detroit the Friday after Thanksgiving for the weekend. This has become an annual event for the last seven years; only one year we deviated from Comfort Suites and quickly found our way back!!The experience is wonderful from the beginning with Group Booking to check out. The staff is well trained in hospitality. The rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained.They also offer handicap accessible rooms for those in need of.The property decor is appropriate and well kept.Pool area well maintained. The breakfast buffet is well balanced with a variety of choices.The location is ideal for out of town guest to easily access freeways to get around city. There is a good selection of restaurants and small stores close by for those who do not wish to adventure too far.The property is also very secure with lighting and security guard in the evenings.A great place to stay that does not break the bank.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
We certainly look forward each and every year to your family visiting the Metro Detroit area. As always we were honored to see all of you. Thank you for your kind words praising our staff service, cleanliness and security. We work hard to ensure that all of our guests are having an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to seeing you next year!

Happy Holidays,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a nice hotel with friendly helpful staff. Comfy beds, fridge, microwave and coffee maker are in the rooms I really like that his hotel is right off the Lodge and Ten Mile road. it is easy in and out of the city of Detroit on the totally redone Lodge Freeway (10). The Lodge which runs on a diagonal to Detroit means you travel southeast into Detroit saving time and distance rather than just east-west then north-south. It only takes 12 minutes to get downtown unlike most suburban hotels where you struggle in traffic. You have access to all freeways once in Detroit so you can go wherever you want quickly. Concerts, restaurants, bars and attractions are closer than they seem whenever you are on the Lodge.

Room Tip: No way! That's my secret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be your hotel of choice when traveling to the Southfield/Detroit area. We are glad that our friendly staff and comfortable rooms made your stay an enjoyable one. Our location is located right off the freeway, which you mentioned, with easy access to Downtown Detroit.

We would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel and look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm Regards,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I am often in Michigan on business and this is my favorite place to stay. Conveniently located and easy to find. The staff always goes above and beyond for their guest. The breakfast is excellent. The rooms are all spacious, clean and inviting. Every morning and evening the staff greets you with a smile and inquiry how things are for you. Of all the hotels I have stayed in during the last year, this is by far the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
We are pleased to hear that we are your hotel of choice during your business trips to Southfield. Thank you for the kind words of praise recognizing our staff, amenities, cleanliness and location.

We are greatful that you took the time out of your day to recognize our hotel. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with several family members on November 2nd and again on November 12th. We were in town to visit a very sick friend on our first visit and returned due to his passing. Hotel staff was extremely empathetic and extended our check out time an extra two hours due to this situation. We were also given a funeral rate ($5.00 lower than usual), not much but appreciated. Hotel is quiet and a Wendy's is next door, convenient for our group and opened until 1:00 A.M. The drive thru is opened til 2:00 A.M. There is a Hertz Rent A Car kiosk located in the entrance and the selection of cars looked appealing. A hotel shuttle also provided transportation to the train station for members of our family who arrived by Amtrak.

There was no coffee in the lobby during evening hours, lukewarm water and tea bags were available. Breakfast is the usual, danish rolls were tasteless, other breakfast items acceptable. Bottled water and pop, juices, etc is expensive at $2.00 per bottle. There is a Speedway Station nearby which offers cheaper prices for these items.

Hotel lobby furniture have seen better days and needs replacing. Chair seats are lopsided and worn. Business center consists of one computer and printer sitting in the breakfast area.

Rooms are large, bedding is perfect, great selection of television stations. Only one elevator which could be slow. With the kindness we received from this hotel staff, I would recommend to anyone, the cosmetic things can be fixed.

Room Tip: If a Choice Privileges Reward Member ask for an upgrade..king beds only
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It was a pleasure to have you and your families visit our location during your recent stay with us.

We have taken your comments and suggestion of the amenities that we offer to the proper departments. Our hotel will be undergoing a renovation this coming January 2014 with a completion date of April 2014. All the areas that you would like to see changes to; are changes that we are aware of and are at the top of our list for our renovation.

Customer Service is a very important part of our industry and we are glad that we provided the up-most service to you and your family during the recent circumstances that brought you to our hotel.

Again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope that your next visit will be under different circumstances.

Sincerely,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sanilac, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've stayed here before, and when I'm in the area, I will return. I had an early morning meeting, the breakfast area was quite full, and the staff kindly allowed me the use of a meeting room. Great service, beyond my expectation. Room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Comfort Suites Southfield, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad to hear that you received exceptional service during your stay. Customer Service is very important to us and we are glad to hear that we provided that to you along with cleanliness.

We look forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Sincerely,

David Dallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Southfield

Address: 24977 Northwestern Highway, Southfield, MI 48076
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Southfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
~~80 Spacious Newly Renovated Suites, including 8 Jacuzzi Suites and 2 Executive Suites~~"Truly Yours" Bedding~~Microwave, sofa sleeper, refrigerator, iron & ironing board, coffee maker, hairdryer, wet bar, safe and full size desk~~37" flat screen televisions~~Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the entire property~~Complimentary deluxe hot breakfast~~Indoor heated swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center~~Coin operated guest laundry and a dry cleaning service~~Complimentary USA today~~Choice Hotels "Choice Privileges" program~~Complimentary parking~~100% Smoke Free Environment ~~Restaurants within 2 blocks of the hotel~~Hertz Car Rental virtual kiosk on site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Southfield Hotel Southfield
Southfield Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Southfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.