We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696 to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26250 American Drive, Southfield, MI 48034   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Southfield
Parma, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The staff at Extrended Stay America were all friendly and helpful. We checked in with Vonya and checked out with Darryl. Both employees were great. The rooms were clean. Everything in the room was in working order. The microwave was quite noisy, but it worked. Our rates were very affordable. Beds were harder than we are used to. Not many TV stations, but we weren't in the room much and aren't big TV watchers anyway. Internet worked well. There is a small area with muffins, granola bars and coffee by the front desk. Grab and go is a good name for the breakfast! Perfect if you are in a hurry. We didn't use it, though. Overall, I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
2
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

overall a very comfortable convenient stay with very affordable rates. we especially were pleased with employees Tevin Gripper and Darryl who is ALWAYS at the front desk knowledgeable, welcoming and professional we have stayed there over a dozen times most because of them.

Room Tip: we enjoyed the king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Every staff member - Barbara, Jeremy, Theresa, Tevin, Serena, MS Ruby and especially Darryl at the front desk - all were top notch. They were friendly, courteous, and did all they could to make your stay pleasant. The motel was clean and well kept. The room that we had was clean and a very good bargain compared to the prices others charged. We stayed twelve nights and would recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was extremely satisfied with the customer service that we received from the front desk the minute we stepped in the lobby. This was not the hotel that we were going to stay in, but after watching the front desk clerk Darryl work with the regular guest we know this was the right place to check into for the week. Thank you Darryl and keep up the good work.

Brian R.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Where to begin...check-in. The lobby was rather uninviting with a portion of the check in desk missing its laminate. There was a filmy feel to the counter. Like it was not clean. The entry doors had smudges and dirt on them. First impressions are everything in the hospitality business. We contemplated trying to find another place to stay but had had trouble finding a room to begin with. The desk clerk Serena was an absolute gem. She found us a room that had been cleaned even though we were there before check in time. She kind and pleasant-a real asset to this hotel.
The room smelled of stale cigarette smoke. Not sure if it was from our room or others in the hallway. Room very definitely needed updating! Paint and a carpet cleaning would have gone a long way. The faucet in the bathroom turned one way to turn the hot water and the opposite to turn on the cold. Go figure! The beds were not too bad comfort wise. Glad we were there for only one night. The employees were the big plus here. As I said, Serena was awesome checking us in and checking us out. There was another gentleman who immediately refill the coffee pot with fresh coffee when I told him it was empty. Too bad the condition of the hotel itself made it a less than desirable place to stay. We won't return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

june we had our first family reunion we book in one at the hotel they really enjoyed their hotel is very nice and big they almost in the morning get up and eat breakfast downstairs all kids love going downstairs to go swimming at the pool in the hotel is very friendly overall the hotel is very clean and friendly we will be there next year

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi there,

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our complimentary Grab-N'-Go breakfast as well as our pool. We try to create a "home away from home" experience for our guests and when you are with family, that is exactly what you need! I'm glad we were able to provide that for you! Thank you again for choosing Extended Stay Hotels! We look forward to seeing you at your next family reunion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

From the outside, the hotel looks inviting. There are no automatic doors though so it's a struggle to bring luggage inside. I booked here because of the TripAdvisor rating - #2 for the area. The hallways are wall to wall stains. Is that blood? Food? Excrement? The room is nicely laid out. There is glass on the floor in the bathroom. Housekeeping problems. Bug parts on the counter. Bed is comfortable though hair particles are found under the sheets. Stickiness. Hmm. You get the picture.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that cleanliness happened to be an issue during your stay with us. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will address the hallways and room cleanliness accordingly to make sure your experience is not repeated.

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it; so please contact me at dsf2@extendedstay.com, so we can speak directly. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696

Address: 26250 American Drive, Southfield, MI 48034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Southfield
Southfield Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.