We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, thoughtful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25100 Northwestern Highway, Southfield, MI 48075   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Chicago
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, thoughtful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Several towns' hotels were booked for a sports competition when we needed to find a place to stay. Holiday Inn had a cancellation but I expressed my concern about noise, considering there appeared to be over a hundred teens there. The gentleman who checked us in told us not to worry. When they booked the kids, they got their own wing, so the other side would be quiet. Overall the kids were quiet. The hotel is sparkling clean. The rooms are great-clean, well maintained, nice pillows.

Room Tip: The last time we stayed there, the bed was hard. This one was just right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Very glad you enjoyed our newly upgraded mattresses and were able to have a restful sleep! Sometimes, we do have sports groups or family reunions. As a result, we try to place such Guests in a wing of the hotel together, for their enjoyment as well as the enjoyment of other Guests!

We do hope to see you again on your next visit here!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
21
7
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Easy checkin and a very clean room. The location was awesome plenty of places to eat within walking distance. The last time in Southfield I had to drive for breakfast because the Denny's that was close was closed so I had went to Original Pancake House. That's when I noticed this location I'm glad I did. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are always proud when our Guests enjoy our efforts to make them feel at-home! Just as you, we also enjoy the conveniences in our area. We always welcome our Guests back for another relaxing and enjoyable stay, whether business or leisure, we are always here!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The location of this property was great for access to Highway and center of city. Room was clean with very old furnishing. Sofabed had a big hole and stain on cushion(which they flipped over so you can not see). Carpet in terrible shape. Front desk staff made us feel we were disturbing them upon check in, but the weekend morning staff were friendly. One staff member stood at the front desk with a sleeping cap on her head :(. Good hotel for youth groups. There were several groups in the hotel and a bit loud, but the hotel keep any noise in check. Good pool! Breakfast gets a grade of C.. Close to many restaurants.
Yes I would stay again, with hopes of renovation to the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Brunchgirlz,

Thank you for your business and your review. Also, thank you for pointing out how great our location is.

I am sorry to hear your negatvie experience during your stay with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologize if some items in your room fell below your standards. Our aim is to give the best hotel experience to each and every guest and we deeply regret that we have failed to deliver this to you. Additionally, I am truly sorry for any inconvenience our staff has caused you.

Thank you for your comments. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed with my husband and son the night before placement tests at LTU. The hotel and room were clean and pleasant. The staff was quite nice and accommodating. However, the toilet dripped for quite a while after flushing, which my husband found annoying. The beds were average, with nice pillow selection. The climate control unit, on the other hand, was extremely loud. My husband and I woke up every time the unit came on, It sounded to us like we were sleeping on an airport runway. (Thankfully, my son slept through it.) The breakfast was not bad, with a nice selection of food, juice, and coffee. If you find yourself in a quiet unit, the stay would be pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Batfan25,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It encourages us to read your positive comments on the condition of our hotel and the room you had as well as the service provided by our staff and our location. My apologies for the inconvenience you had with the toilet and the climate control. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I had the opportunity of us staying at this hotel and I really enjoyed the overall experience. The rooms were very clean the building is relatively new and the staff was very courteous.


If you are in the Southfield Michigan area need a place to stay this is a great hotel.

I was actually able to find a great walk in rate as well on hotel coupons dot com

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at this Holiday Inn Express in Southfield, MI (suburb of Detroit, Bloomfield Hills, Troy)..we have never been disappointed..the breakfast is always plentiful (eggs, sausage, french toast, gravy, waffles,yogurts, fresh fruit, juice , cereals..hot and cold, and COFFEE)...the service at the front desk is friendly and always helpful..and the suite of rooms is always clean and spacious...the rates are excellent..I will be going back to this property again as the value for the money is excellent..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel was great, especially for a limited service hotel! The staff made every attempt to address my issues, even offering me waffles or french toast, as alternatives, while the pancake maker is being replaced! It is good to stay at a hotel where the staff makes you feel "at home"!

Room Tip: Front Desk is very accommodating and upgraded me even when reservations made a mistake on my room ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield

Address: 25100 Northwestern Highway, Southfield, MI 48075
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southfield Hotel near downtown Detroit destinations. Conveniently located near I-696 and Highway 10, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Southfield keeps travelers connected to the popular attractions and major businesses of downtown Detroit. From the Detroit Art Institute to the Henry Ford Museum, Detroit's legacy appears in many historical attractions. While staying at our Greater Detroit hotel, outdoor lovers can enjoy skiing at one of several local ski resorts during the snowy winters, or they can enjoy water activities at one of the many local lakes during the summer. The growing Southfield community hosts a diverse range of concerts, movies and dining options, such as Arturo's Jazz Theater and Restaurant. This growing community makes for a booming economy, since Southfield is now the premier business district of Detroit. You'll find more than 9,000 businesses and 80 Fortune 500 companies within minutes of this hotel in Southfield. We meet business travelers' needs by offering four meeting rooms and a 24-hour business center. Why settle for disappointing, cheap hotels in Detroit when you can stay in this Southfield hotel offering free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and a new fitness center? Other hotel amenities include a heated, indoor pool, whirlpool and a hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. Call Southfield's Holiday Inn Express hotel now for great room deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield Hotel Southfield
Holiday Inn Southfield
Southfield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.