We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn South Haven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn South Haven to your Saves list
Hampton Inn South Haven
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   04299 Cecilia Drive, South Haven, MI 49090   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 10% Off for AAA
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very nice...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn with out two boys ages 13 and 9 for one night over the weekend of the Blueberry Festival. Overall the Hotel is very clean and neat. The staff was great, and out boys loved the pool area. The rooms although very clean are somewhat small with only 2 double beds rather than queen beds which was a little tight for 4 of us. The breakfast buffet was alright, very crowded ( probably because it was a weekend and the hotel was full) the area with tables is very small had to wait a while for some place to sit, but it is free, and the staff kept the different food areas filled well. We got a rate of 159.00 through the Hotel itself. The location is outside of town near other Hotels and the Highway, but it doesnt take very long to get downtown (minutes). Would probably stay again if we wanted this area.

  • Liked — it was very clean
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    65
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
57
60
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

We have started staying exclusively at Hampton Inns, and this is the second one we've stayed at this month that is excellent. From the speedy front desk check-in to the clean room and its amenities, to the breakfast, to the overall cleanliness and decor of the rooms, lobby, elevator, fitness room, pool, and on and on, this place is great. The room is exactly what we booked via Expedia, a king non-smoking with the wonderful Hampton "Cloud 9" pillowtop mattress, four of the wonderful Hampton pillows plus the usual small bolster pillow (to help my back), the white super clean duvet cover over the quilt, the desk and free wireless internet connection, the little couch, and on and on -- it couldn't be nicer. At breakfast (6-10AM) the person in charge of the large-ish, comfy room moved quickly and efficiently around, making sure everything was hot and/or cold, refilled, clean, and even offered a Hampton mint to us as we departed. There's a large selection of food, the local newspaper, USA Today, and other materials to read. If you are in a hurry, just ask for a breakfast bag to go. Three were waiting at the front desk as we left for the morning. If you prefer in-room coffee, the coffeemaker comes complete with two Hampton ceramic mugs (not styrofoam cups)! Finally, in an area beset by lack of rain so that most grass is brown, this hotel uses its irrigation system to create beautiful grounds all around. Somebody should put a gold star on the foreheads of the Hampton people! Please keep it up!

(Oh, and across the street from this Hampton is the South Haven "lighthouse" Ramada, apparetnly named because of a mini-lighthouse on the front lawn but nowhere near any water. We stayed at the Ramada last year for the same price as the Hampton this year. What a mistake!)

  • Liked — Bedding
  • Disliked — Some rooms on our floor were smoking, and we could smell the smoke in the hallway
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

Three of us stayed 1-night in a room with two double beds. The pillowtop matress was very comfortable. The iron in our room worked great . This is not always the case with motel room irons. Wireless internet was free. The continental breakfast was above average. An employee walked up to our table as we were finishing, and offered us each a small box of mints. And here's my favorite: Shortly after checking into our room, the front desk phoned and asked if everything in the room was okay.
Also, the pool was very nice but the whirlpool water was a little too hot. We paid $96 total. We would difinitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel. It is a very clean, well-maintained property. Our room was a little small (two double beds) but quite clean and comfortable. The bedding was excellent; the beds are a bit small but had wonderful bedding and the best pillows that we have ever had in a hotel.
The continental breakfast was good and offered fruit, cereal, yogurt, waffles, sausage, pastries, the usual fare but a bit better than we have experienced at other chain hotels.
The most notable thing that we experienced was the friendliness of every single staff member that we met during our stay, from the front desk to the cleaning staff. Every person smiled and greeted us and tried to be helpful. The most outstanding person was the very nice lady in charge of the breakfast area. She kept all the breakfast items replenished, greeted the guests, was very helpful and interactive. I saw her helping people, answering questions and making sure that everyone got what they needed. She did a much better job of taking care of the guests than what we usually note at other hotels we have stayed with.
We had dinner at Clementines, in downtown South Haven. The desk clerk recommended this restaurant and it was a good choice. I would certainly stay at this hotel again should the occasion arise. There is a nice pool and whirlpool although we did not use it. The hotel is right off the interstate and convenient but is in a very busy part of town.

  • Liked — Very clean, wonderful bedding, great staff
  • Disliked — The usual rather poor bathroom lighting that one always finds in chain motels
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

This is a very nice Hampton Inn. Warm greeting and good service from the front desk and staff at all times. Wonderful new beds and bedding. Very cozy. The entire hotel was very clean and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent with scrambled eggs, cheese and ham + fruit and all other very nice breakfast items. Loved the mints after breakfast. Convient to highway if driving from Michigan <> Chicago this is THE place to stay.

  • Liked — Attention to detail.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

South Haven is a quaint lakeside town. It was impossible to find one of the cottages in the area available at the last minute in July, so we chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were glad that we did. The hotel was clean, the hot breakfast buffet was very good, and the coffee was even strong enough for me! (The lady who worked in the breakfast area was very friendly too.)

My only complaint is that the beds weren't very large. We're average sized people, and even for four people who are used to traveling together and sharing smaller spaces, the small beds made it difficult to get a good night's sleep. (The bedding was nice and inviting, however.)

The hotel is located in a less than quaint area of town since it is surrounded by all of the other chain hotels, fast food restaurants, and a Super Walmart, but it's only a five minute drive from the beach, lighthouse and pleasant downtown. We arrived on a Thursday evening in July and were treated to a free concert along the water. There were ice cream parlors and restaurants and beautiful old homes in that same area.

South Haven (the Blueberry Capital of the World) is also about twenty minutes from Douglas/Saugatuck. After breakfast on Friday we drove there. We stopped by the farmers market, perused art galleries and enjoyed the view of the water. We also enjoyed the beautiful and relaxing beach.

Staying at the Hampton Inn made it possible to have a refreshing much-needed get-away at an affordable price. We can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Nice breakfast, pleasant decor, convenient location
  • Tips/Secrets — There are rentals that are within walking distance of the beach, so if you plan well in advance, you might want to try that. If not, this is a very nice place to stay!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

I chose this hotel as they were available for a one night stay over the w/e and they took my discount over my usual pick of the Holiday Inn. Am I glad that happened!! What a great little place!! The new Hampton Inn bed rocks!! New mattresses, fluffy white duvet, pillows marked "hard" & "soft"(we got 2 of each), and a lumbar pillow to boot, with lap desk it was one of the most inviting beds in a reasonably priced hotel i've seen & slept in!!! The pool is decent sized with plenty of chairs and a nice hot tub, they offer soft choc chip cookies at ck inn, and the staff knocks themselves out to get the "caught you doing something great" awards they have in every room!! Oh & the breakfast was super, fruit salad, juices, cereals hot & cold, diff types of coffee, and french toast sticks & sausage for those that must have something hot along with loads of danish, bagels, toast, & muffins!! excellent and nice large area to eat it in!!! Except for some guests causing a rukus at 2:30 am that resulted in the police coming to our floor (some folks shouldn't leave home!!) it was a perfect stay!!! I'll be back!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn South Haven

Address: 04299 Cecilia Drive, South Haven, MI 49090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn South Haven Hotel South Haven
South Haven Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn South Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.