We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Castle Inn
Save
You added Sand Castle Inn to your Saves list
203 Dyckman Ave., South Haven, MI 49090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Palatine, IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our first visit to the Sand Castle Inn, staying in the Tower Room. The room was very nice, clean, and spacious. The location was excellent: only a block from the beach and a few blocks from downtown. We stayed two nights. One breakfast was adequate (more akin to a continental breakfast at a hotel) and the other was excellent. The decor lacked the Victorian charm that would make the interior stand out. Snacks were always available, and fresh cookies were baked at 7:30pm. Although the building has central air, the room also had a window air conditioner, which was nice. We've stayed at B&Bs before where we were at the mercy of the building temperature. We didn't get a chance to swim in the pool, but it looked nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    30
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our first time staying at The Sand Castle Inn. We stayed int he Garden Room. The staff was very friendly and the room was comfortable and clean. We loved taking our breakfast out on the front porch in the morning. The Inn is in walking distance to downtown South Haven and to the beach which was wonderful. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I recently went for a quick getaway for one night at the Sand Castle. Our room had a king size bed, flat screen TV, electric fireplace and its own private deck on the first floor. It was very clean and the breakfast served the next morning was great. You can't beat the location. It was one block from the beach and within walking distance to downtown. I though it might be a bit noisy since we had a first floor room but it was nice and quiet. Brenda was very welcoming!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellisville, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our fourth visit to the Sand Castle Inn in South Haven. We have stayed in the Garden Room and Coronet Room on the first floor, this visit we stayed in the Tapestry Room on the second floor. It is a quaint bed and breakfast, friendly owner and staff, wonderful breakfasts, appetizers and cookies in the evening are a nice touch. The rooms are lovely, the pool looked inviting and the accommodations always exceed our expectations. Great location to the beach, Captain Lou's for a drink, Clementines for dinner, cute shops and a nice walk to the lighthouse.
See you on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg Twp, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I have gone to the Sandcastle Inn once before for just a one night trip to the beach. Good location and we have been please with the accomodations at the Sand Castle Inn. Comfortable room and lovely large porch to relax on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend here, celebrating a family member's birthday. We especially appreciated the convenience of a first floor room for our handicapped member. I agree with all the positive comments made by the other reviews. The only inconvenience we experienced is that there is not enough seating for breakfast. Tables filled rapidly and trying to balance a tray on your lap is awkward. Other than that, our time here was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Sand Castle Inn was the perfect escape. We stayed in the Tower Suite which was the only suite on the 3rd, top, floor. The room was awesome with windows all around and a balcony. There were appetizers in the afternoon, cookies, drinks, and a delicious hot breakfast on the wrap around porch. The Inn is within walking distance of anywhere you'd want to go in South Haven.. a 15-20 min. walk to the pier where we watched the sunset. This was our third trip to the Sand Castle Inn. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Tower Suite offers privacy and a view of the park across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Inn

Address: 203 Dyckman Ave., South Haven, MI 49090
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Sand Castle Hotel South Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.