We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smoking” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Great Lakes Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Great Lakes Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Great Lakes Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9814 M-140, South Haven, MI 49090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Challis, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“smoking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

If you want a smoking room you got it!!! All rooms in Michigan are non smoking now HA. At this motel you can smoke any time or any where. It looks like they are trying to fix it up but they have a long way to go. They could start by cleaning the floor entrence to pool. Pool was dirty and cold.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    8
    3
    13
See reviews for
12
6
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the worse hotel I have ever stayed at!! It was so dirty! There was food by the fridge that was covered in ants that were coming in from the big crack at the bottom of the door. There were 2 electrical sockets that weren't coverd completly open. There was black mold by the tub and sink in the bathroom. The air conditioner in the main room didn't work. The shower had no hot water. There was spots of stuff all over the room and in the bedroom on the back of the curtain there was stains that looked like blood. And the 1 fire alarm in the 2 bedroom "suite" didn't work. When I addressed these thing with the manager he wouldn't do Anything!! Said that was a nice room. Room 59. Than when we spoke with a sheriff at the parade he said that's the first place they go when they get a missing persons report. Enough said!! STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Imagine the most disgusting place imaginable. Then you've discovered the Great Lakes Inn & Suites of South Haven. A group of four of us stayed in this abomination, which looked like a murder had taken place...recently. The horrid bathroom ceiling was covered in questionable blood splatter. Cigarette butts littered the inside of the bathroom sink in a room which claimed to be non-smoking. The beds were on make-shift bed frames which shifted if you sat on the corner of the bed. The lights were non-funtioning. The pool was closed. There was NO breakfast available, however, we wouldn't have eaten it regardless. Gross. Disgusting. Way over-priced, even during the alleged "off-season." Horrible does not sum this experience up.

Room Tip: Room 36 is a crime scene
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Great price...excellent location. Dont let them "hold a room" with your credit card because they automatically charge it at that moment and you cannot pay cash upon arrival! We stayed Saturday, Oct. 9-2011. A/C didnt work, phone didnt work, no screen on crank window. True about no fitted sheet! Pillow flat as pancackes. Bathroom very broken down but we did have hot water enough for 2. Closet door very difficult to open. THERE IS A GLASS AREA ON TOP THAT THE LIGHT SHINES THROUGH SO ROOM NOT DARK. Coffee maker had no pot. Refrigerator nice to have!! Dead bolt but no key, and only one part of security lock on inside of door. With that being said, you do get what you pay, so we made it work.

Room Tip: Read reviews....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed here on a Sunday night when we were camping because of rain. We didn't want to spend a ton of money and found this hotel online. I was pretty wary of the place by the reviews made, but was once again pleasantly surprised and realized yet again not to base much on reviews. This is not a fancy place and the rooms are not connected to the office which might turn people off for some reason. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfy. We had no hot water issues and the staff was very nice. I enjoy giving my money to mom and pop shops instead of a giant hotel chain but if you want a modern day hotel then go to one of the many other options available in the area that are all well over $100 a night. If you just want a decent room that is not a chain and an amazing price, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The hotel was good for the price. I agree with some reviews it does need a little TLC but there is nothing to worry about in this location. You are a very short drive from downtown and the beaches, the owners are very nice and helpful. For a busy holiday weekend 79.99 plus tax is better then 190 if you are not even going to spend a lot of time there. Stay here and save the money for the great wine in the area. It is a nice motel and works as a place to stay. It was good for the money.

Room Tip: Reserve through the hotel it will save you at least 10 dollars compared to expedia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We did not have reservations, and everything around there was expensive. It was a spur of the moment trip. It was not the best place to stay. First night could not get enough hot water. Beds, okay. Bathroom could be updated. Jacuzzi tub never would work. It just needs alot of T.L.C. Not sure if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Lakes Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Lakes Inn & Suites

Address: 9814 M-140, South Haven, MI 49090
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Great Lakes Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Great Lakes Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Lakes Hotel South Haven
Great Lakes Inn And Suites
Great Lakes Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Lakes Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.