We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Winter's Day Lunch Stop!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Street Cafe

Phoenix Street Cafe
523 Phoenix St, South Haven, MI 49090-1408
269-637-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 60 Restaurants in South Haven
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Winter's Day Lunch Stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Friendly staff quickly accomodated 10 of us for lunch. Service was attentive and fast. Potato soup got rave reviews as did the bisquits and gravy. Plates were cleaned!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    56
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not your average lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed lunch while visiting the area. My husband had the Reuben Sandwich and I had the turkey sandwich with cranberries and cream cheese. It was outstanding! The restaurant was very busy but we had great service. Hope to visit again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“what happened??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Last few times I've been here it wasn't so great...but my most recent visit was really awful....used to love this place for breakfast. The oatmeal pancakes (which is why I tried it again) were really greasy....I felt like I'd just eaten at McDonalds after having one!! My dining partner got the "hash brown rounds" as he doesn't care for the "haven fries"...they were AGAIN just like McDs andSthat's not a good thing. Tab way too high for what we got and I could hear the waitresses arguing with the cook...
So sad to see this happen.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph, MI
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a favorite hangout for lunch. In the Benton Harbor Arts District and so we often meet up for lunch as it's close for everyone. Great meals and always something different. A little pricey but well worth it. The atmosphere is laid-back and fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast Too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a wonderful place to eat. The food is excellent. Such a popular place, the lines are long at times, but worth the wait. So many different dishes to choose from, no matter the time of day. Excellent service and just great food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Street Cafe also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Phoenix Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.