We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home of my favorite sandwich, EVER.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clementine's

Clementine's
500 Phoenix St, South Haven, MI 49090-1443
269-637-4755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 59 restaurants in South Haven
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Home of my favorite sandwich, EVER.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I've been to both the South Haven and the St. Joe locations of Clementine's numerous times and I alway get the same things. The Corner Deli (corned beef) sandwich, Side of Onion Rings and Ice Tea. That would probably be my final meal if I could choose it.

The atmosphere is really good, if you are a Michigan sports team fan, such as I. The Detroit Tigers are always on in the summer, if they are playing. The interior is dark wood and has that "feel" to it.

It all comes back to that sandwich. I'd give the place 5* just on that alone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    172
    132
    59
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Finally got to dine here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have attempted to dine here in the summer but the wait was so long.
December is the perfect time to go as we were seated in 5 minutes.
I had salmon and my husband had steak. The food and drinks were great! Our waitress was attentive but not overbearing. We were seated in a booth in the bar area but it was quiet enough for conversation.
We will return. The menu is extensive!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Branch, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved the ambience, history and food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hosts at Victoria Resort as one of the traditions of South Haven and they were right. Good service, food and atmosphere. We enjoyed our evening at "Clem's"!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

In South Haven for our anniversary getaway. Clementine's is sort of the main place to eat here, and definitely should be one consideration. The food is good--hubby had the French onion soup, and we split a burger and curly fries (they actually split it for us in the kitchen, which is always nice) and couldn't finish it! Pleasant Christmas decor and not too busy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere, kid friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stopped in for dinner on a chilly November weekend evening. We have been to Tello's before but wanted to try something different. Everything was good: fish and chips, local made hard cider by the bottle, big salads that could feed 2 people, and delicious chicken fingers cooked in their own batter. Very kid friendly including a kids menu with many items for about $5. Adult entrees were around $9. Definitely nice but not fancy. Service was fine, we had a booth by the window which was nice except for the ugly and extensive road construction going on out front. We look to coming back when the road is repaired and we can enjoy strolling thru town again. Very glad we stopped in for dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clementine's also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Clementine's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clementine's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.