We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites South Haven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites South Haven to your Saves list
Comfort Suites South Haven
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 Phoenix Street, South Haven, MI 49090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
2 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I use the Comfort family alot. Prefer them because of the breakfast and the hospitality. I must say this time was no exception. I called for a reservation, because if you don't know, calling and actually talking to the staff, can sometimes get you a better rate than their website and other travel companies. Mentioned it was my anniversary, the lady was so nice. Got us a hot tube suit. We ran into car problems, called the hotel and they did whatever they could to help. Arrived at the hotel and the staff were so nice and wished us a happy anniversary. Only stayed one night, but they gave us a late checkout. Breakfast was better than usual. Usually just a continental breakfast, but this one had eggs and sausage as well. Eggs were a little over cooked from the warmer, but nothing worth giving a bad review or being picky about. Overall stay was great. Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites South Haven, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello, Thank You for taking the time to send us a kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Comfort Suited. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    21
    8
    13
See reviews for
33
30
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have vacationed in South Haven numerous times, but this was our first stay at the Comfort Suites. It was pretty close to perfect! We were greeted warmly and when in our suite for a short time, received a call from the front desk to ask if everything was okay. For our stay, we chose a hot-tub suite. The room was spacious and had a desk with chair, a table with two more chairs, a sofabed with another table, flatscreen TV, microwave and refrigerator. Wi-fi worked perfectly. We did have a slight problem with the refrigerator and the problem was resolved in a timely manner. The hot tub was located in a separate room within the suite. The room, hot tub room and bathroom were all very clean. All linens were clean, though some towels did seem to be thicker than others. There were numerous soft pillows on our king-sized bed, would have preferred a few firmer ones, but managed to sleep quite well regardless! Also, there was a full-length mirror on the closet door, a hair dryer, iron and ironing board and coffee maker with coffee and tea packets. Soaps and toiletries were replenished daily. Only real negative on the room - the bathroom lighting is way too dim. There are two wall fixtures and one ceiling light - and it's still too dark in that bathroom! The lighting is only slightly brighter than a nightlight! The breakfast consisted of many items, including waffles, eggs, sausage, English muffins, oatmeal and dry cereals, sweet rolls, various fruit, yogurt, orange and apple juice, coffee, tea, milk. Was a little surprised that they did not have bagels and cream cheese, but there was still much to choose from. The pool area appeared clean and well-maintained, but we did not use it, same for the exercise room. Our room was cleaned daily, as expected, and all staff we encountered were extremely friendly. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites South Haven, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hello, Thank You for taking the time to send us a kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Comfort Suites. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice this summer. The rooms are clean and sanitary. It was nice to get a call from the front desk a few minutes after I checked into my room to make sure everything was clean and up to my standard in the room. It is a comfort Inn so although everything is not updated & contemporary like for example Fairfield Inn at el., they do take pride in keeping what they have; traditionally furnished rooms.
Front desk staff was friendly. Breakfast was decent and got my day started early. I'd stay here again just not for 220 a night. It just seems a bit overpriced even if it is their peak season.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites South Haven, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hello, Thank You for sending us a kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is way over priced! For over $200.00 per night we were checked in to a room with bed bugs. The owner denied that's what the blood filled bug on the bed was, but did move our room. No discounts were given. The new room was clean but had holes in the sheets. This place should provide more than bed bugs for the high price charged. We were very disappointed and will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites South Haven, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hello. I are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay will us. If you would like to dicuss this further please give me a call. I would like to invite you to come back and see how we are doing. If you would like to make a future reservation please give me a call..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Clean hotel..great wifi. This hotel is very nice and would stay again if I am in this area. But it did have a few annoying issues which didn't allow me to give this a higher rating.
The beds were great..the extra pillows were a plus!

1st issue was a simple why couldn't I completely close the curtains? Not only were the lights from the building next to my room shining in..but it was the first floor and being unable to shut them let us feeling very uncomfortable.

2nd issue. The 4:30 a.m. wake up call. Thanks to the trash being picked up next door. Talk about loud. So if you stay on a Monday...beware.

3rd issue...good thing we were up at 7..because at 7:15 a.m. someone let the dogs out..Two dogs began howling and barking..sometimes in unison...must of the time just to hear each other bark.

I am all for allowing dogs while traveling...but that was a bit ridiculous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites South Haven, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hello, We want to thank you for sending us a kind review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay 100% with us. On your next vist to Comfort Suites we will be glad to help you out with the curtain issue. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, MI.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed about 2 weeks ago, arrived kinda late. Easy check in. Stayed in room 312. Double queen bed, very comfortable. And a sleeper sofa, added plus if needed. Microwave, fridge and in room safe. Bathroom had a deep tub, sorta like a soaker, I'll take that hands down. The downside, the channels looked like I had rabbit ears. And the elevator button didn't work past the 2nd floor. And fyi, get more than one waffle maker. And breakfast ends at 9:00 am, now that's rise and shine. Overall, it's a good stay, and cheaper than the over priced Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina B, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites South Haven, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We would like to invite you to come see how we are doing. If you would like to make a future reservation please give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night in May, on a short get-away to go to the beaches on the lake. This hotel is in a busy area, with views of parking lots, and roads. It was ok for a stop through the area, but not a place we are likely to revisit. The employees were helpful, and as friendly as we have come to expect in this area. (Maybe it is just me, but after a day on the road, I like to see a smile when you enter to check in. Lots of Choice Hotels "get" this. Most in MI do not.) We have stayed in many Comfort Suites across our country, and this is one of the lower end styles we have seen. For the same price we have had suites twice the size in many places. I guess it is a good value for the area. It is confusing to get into this parking lot, so may want to use your GPS.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites South Haven

Address: 1755 Phoenix Street, South Haven, MI 49090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites South Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites South Haven Hotel South Haven
South Haven Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites South Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.