We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice servers, OK food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Taste

Taste
402 Phoenix Street, South Haven, MI
+1 269-637-0010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 60 Restaurants in South Haven
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Flossmoor, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice servers, OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was our first time here. The servers were very friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. However, the food was just average. The food was tapas style, but in general, the food felt, in my humble opinion, pre-made and re-heated. The decor is spartan. Overall, the food was average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    43
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

On recommendation of friends, we tried Taste. Or friends told us that everything they have tried has been delicious, and we now agree. Selection includes many Cold small plates and many Hot small plates in addition to soups, and salads. They also offer entree portions of 5-6 of the hot selections which are served with 2 side dishes. I had the chicken skewers which were served with a wonderful sauce and my husband had the sweet & spicy ribs which he enjoyed. Good value for your money with generous serving size. Good wine selection and topped off with great service from our waitress.
Area behind bar for about 30 people if a group or private party is desired.
Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, MI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Taste is yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Went to Taste on a Monday night and really enjoyed the food! We shared a goat cheese and beet salad. My husband had ribs and gyro meatballs. I had chicken skewers and sushi. The small plates weren't that small and the flavors were amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great martinis, fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Martinis were excellent and the dishes were more creative than I expects. Steak, chicken and crab dishes were all excellent. Mozzarella and tomatoes not what you expect - very different from the usual Italian fare, but still interesting. It's a fun place that is very different from the fried perch places. Best to have 4 people so you can share different dishes and tastes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband & I dined at Taste on 7/6/13. We loved the concept - small plates meant for sharing so we could sample many things. We ordered potato tacos, tilapia tacos, sweet & smoky ribs, pork flautas, and a potato havarti dill soup. My husband had an awesome local beer and I had the best Malbec I have ever tasted. We finished with taramasui for dessert. It was a nice, non-rushed meal. I think this new restaurant will be a huge success!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.