We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ride for fun and exercise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kal Haven Trail

Kal Haven Trail
66 N Bailey Ave, South Haven, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in South Haven
Attraction details
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Ride for fun and exercise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Rode this during the blueberry festival. You can ride a long ways on this trail but very level and maintained well. Did not find a ton of places to stop for water or a drink, but there are some... but bring your own in the summer-- it can be hot! Nice to drive by countless blueberry fields!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wauseon, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Fun little trail. Only went the first four miles but was a nice trail and fun for couples. Nice view and very shady!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My friend and I just came back from a bike tour that began at the Kalamazoo Kal-Haven Trail head. We biked (mostly limestone) from there to Bloomingdale (we had our lunch here at the picnic tables). Across the street from picnic tables is Wagoners (little grocery store with a deli) and the people are very nice that prepared our lunch. We left there and headed to South Haven where we stayed at Holiday Inn Express and in the morning rode back the way we came with lunch in the same spot.
The scenery is beautiful! This length we rode is 32.5 miles one way. We did 65 miles in two days. The hotel isn't far from downtown South Haven (beach, restaurants, shops, wine bar, Warner's tasting room) and the hotel has a breakfast until 10am

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and flat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very beautiful ride, through tunnels of trees and very flat. Along the way there are very small towns that you can stop off at and rest or have refreshments. We met some other bikers along the way and stopped and chatted with them for awhile. Saw them on the way back also. Just a nice get away for some peace and quiet.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Hike or bike- either way a great trail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Kal-Haven trail is an great scenic trail. We've hiked and biked this trail and both times we were impressed by the colored trees in the fall and the food at County Fare in Grand Junction in the winter. The Kal-Haven trail is an easy path along an old railroad path and the views are spectacular. This is definitely a must do if you happen to find yourself in the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kal Haven Trail also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Kal Haven Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kal Haven Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.