We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time on the trail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kal Haven Trail

Kal Haven Trail
66 N Bailey Ave, South Haven, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Activities in South Haven
Type: Hiking Trails, Sports
Attraction details
SALINE
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“First time on the trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice easy traveling. The trail is in great condition and it looks to be used by a lot of people. There is good info at the trailhead and a good size parking lot with restrooms (pit toilets) available.
Going to come back and use it more someday.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Accessible and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The trail is flat, well-maintained and winds through residential areas, farms, new-growth forest, and rivers. We appreciated the occasional port-o-let, picnic table, and water pump. We rode four miles in either direction but we could have done more if we'd had more time. We visited on a weekday; I can imagine that it's a lot busier on weekends. Worth visiting.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“not many good views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

a flat, straight trail that goes thru wooded areas, enjoyable for a casual ride but doesn't have many interesting views... at least for the first 10 miles or so.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Easy biking or walking trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This trail is very easy (flat and smooth gravel) to ride miles on. We rode 7 miles in and because it was flat and straight you do not need a map at all.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Kal Haven Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Kal Haven trail provides over 33 miles of railroad bed to bike, walk and run. It's very well maintained, and has all different kinds of views. There are parking lots in South Haven and Kalamazoo, with other smaller stops in-between. It's one of South Haven's big draws and wonderful to use.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kal Haven Trail also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Kal Haven Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kal Haven Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.