We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating it actually between a 3 and 4.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express South Haven to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Phoenix Rd, South Haven, MI 49090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
1,020 reviews 1,020 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 270 cities Reviews in 270 cities
2,149 helpful votes 2,149 helpful votes
“Rating it actually between a 3 and 4.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

As I stated above in my title, this hotel deserves a 3.5 rating.

Checkin was quick and efficient, but totally lacking in being "personable." They were not busy when I was checking in and I was the only one standing there.

Check out was a bit friendlier. We did have problems with the people in the room above us, as their kids were jumping around for hours off the beds, slamming drawers and doors, etc. I called the office to confirm it was the correct room number, as I was planning on calling them to ask them to have their kids stop. The office did confirm room number, but did not offer to call them for me. They should have. I never did call, the noise ended at about 11:30 and we were not in bed yet. Next morning it resumed around 8 AM and I did call them and thanked them for leaving at checkout time at 11 AM-LOL. And that is exactly when we heard the last "jump."

The hotel appeared to be full, as most major hotels in town were.

Rates were very good, considering.

Our room was large and had everything we needed. Lighting was very good. There is an entry door light, as well as 3 lamps in the room, one on the desk, one on the dresser, and one on the nightstand, which the queen beds share.

The desk is large, with a phone. Couple drawers. Comfortable chair. 4 large drawers in the dresser, with the lamp and flat screen TV on top, with room to put other things. Nice size frig and microwave. Two mirrors, one full length. Two queens, nightstand with drawer and storage underneath and an alarm clock on top. Bed were very comfortable. We requested and got additional pillows. Closet is open with ironing board and iron; several hangars, no luggage rack. One shelf. Bathroom is large. Curved shower head. good water pressure, drains well. Good towels. Basic bathroom products. Hair dryer. Coffeemaker. Ice bucket/cups/tray. Heat lamp. Large counter area with sink.

Room was clean upon entry. Sheets fit the bed. Both heat and A/C and fan run well. Plugs, lighting, phone, clock, locks, TV, frig and microwave all worked well. Walls are thin and you can hear things easily from the next room. We left a good tip the following morning, and our room was clean upon return, but housekeeping forgot to leave us enough towels, a bath mat, and some bathroom products, so I had to ask for them at the office, which had no problem getting them for me.

Parking lot large and you can park all the way around the entire building and there are entrances at each end. Near a Walmart, gas station, and pharmacy and a couple restaurants. About 3 miles into South Haven.

We did not eat the breakfast, but did get coffee and hot chocolate, which were both very good. We also didn't use the pool, but we did check it out and it appeared very clean. There are about 5 chairs to sit on surrounding the pool.

We did use the computer (1) in the lobby, and it worked fine, a bit slow. The provide paper and pens for your use. A free USA today paper is available for free, also, located in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
36
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I don't believe I will ever again stay at that Holiday Inn. The first room we were assigned to was frigidly cold (it was about 75 degrees outside and about 60 in the room). We were unable to adjust the thermostat as it was broken and spun around doing nothing. We notified the front desk and asked for a different room. The second room was so disappointing. The first room had a fridge and a microwave, the second room did not. While the temperature in the second room was able to be regulated, the cleanliness left a LOT to be desired. The carpet really needed not only to be vacuumed, but also washed. There were lots of pretzel crumbs left from what I assume was the previous inhabitant. The mattresses on both queen size beds were too soft for my liking and unfortunately, there were two very long hairs on the sheets of one of the beds. Thank goodness there were two beds! When we checked out the next morning, the front desk employee asked if everything had been all right. When I told her that the carpet was dirty and littered with food crumbs, her response was that she thought it might need cleaning. No apology given.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Adequate rooms and very nice staff. Pool leaves much to be desired. No hot tub. Breakfast you might seriously consider skipping.Rooms and lobby were well maintained. However,carpet on third floor near vending room and vending room floor were in desperate need of cleaning. Location was right off highway and close distance to town but has nothing to offer in terms of the charm factor. If you can afford it, stay closer to the water.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

The first impression is a lasting one.... This was the worst room we have ever stayed in. Carpet was filthy, actually black in areas. We had to ask for the floor in the floor in the bathroom to be cleaned & disinfected. No washcloths provided after the 1st night.

Breakfast was poor quality & having to look at filthy carpeting while eating only made matters worse.

Management should take notice of the conditions at this location and focus on cleanliness.

We will never stay at this hotel again & will never recommend it to our friends & family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Nice, clean room for the $$. Away from downtown, but everything was clean and even included breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabash, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

The staff was great ,very helpful and friendly
our room was perfect had everything we could of possibly needed
the only draw back was the pool area needed attention and the hall carpet really needs cleaned. The good qualities of this hotel far out way the bad. We will be back

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I made a reservation on my government rate, and was pleasantly surprised at the reasonable price.

The pleasant experience continued into check-in, which was efficient and pleasant. I was a little disappointed to find a 24 hour advance notice cancellation policy, (why?) but was advised by management they would work with you if you gave them as much notice as possible. I think it would be better to return to the 6 PM cancellation "day of" that most other hotels use.

Room was large and quiet. Services good, breakfast above average with two different pleasant attendants on my several-night stay. Newspaper at the door for Priority Club members; this is appreciated.

Housekeeping staff was great; it's nice to not have your 'stuff' disturbed, but still get a clean room with all soaps and service items refreshed every day. These people do housekeeping perfectly.

Front desk staff was helpful and attentive; I came back one evening with some fresh blueberries and asked for a spoon from the pantry; the male clerk asked if I wanted some milk to go with my berries. Nice touch!

Checkout uneventful and efficient, as it should be.

I will be back, for certain. There are four other hotels within a 200 yard radius; I've used the others, and won't anymore. This place rocks!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Haven

Address: 1741 Phoenix Rd, South Haven, MI 49090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites South Haven may be defined as a limited service hotel by the industry...no room service, restaurant, bellman, doorman, and so on. But our team defines us differently. It's about delivering service that creates a bond with the individual and the brand. And this is what S.M.A.R.T. Service is all about. The hotel features indoor pool, inside corridors, and fitness center. All our spacious guest rooms have voice mail, data ports, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and iron & boards. Free high-speed Internet throughout building. We Have a new Express Start breakfast with more items to choose from (you have to see it). Area attractions include downtown South Haven and Lake Michigan. Only one mile away. Visit South Haven, MI and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Make sure you Stay Smart and stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Haven Hotel South Haven
Holiday Inn South Haven
South Haven Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.