We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - No hot tub though.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Haven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express South Haven to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Phoenix Rd, South Haven, MI 49090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place - No hot tub though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel. Pretty standard Holiday Inn Express. Hotel is within a mile or so of downtown South Haven and the beach. Close to the interstate but not so close to be annoying.

Front desk staff were friendly upon arrival and throughout our stay. Hotel was clean and smelled fresh. We were disappointed to learn there was no hot tub, which seems odd by today's hotel standard, especially the Holiday Inn and in Michigan. Pool was nice. For those of you who read our reviews for the fitness facility quality in the hotel, sorry, we didn't make it in this room on this trip; however, I did see there was some equipment.

The room was comfortable. Microwave (free popcorn), refrigerator (two bottles of water). Bed was super comfortable. The room was a two room suite which was laid out kind of odd. The couch and a TV were in a side room which was long and narrow with no door. I think they were going for a living room but it would be difficult to watch TV in there and in the room with the bed because they are basically, well, the same room, with a divided by a wall. I suggest the hotel management take out the wall and rearranging the room, or add a door.

Breakfast was very good. Eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, and the signature Holiday Inn cinnamon roles - those things are really good; a little more and fresher fruit options would be good. There is a pancake maker, and the typical other assorted breakfast items. Breakfast is open until 10:30 a.m. on the weekends which is a great idea when you are basically on a time zone boarder. Breakfast attendant was friendly and helpful keeping items stocked.

South Haven could support another couple of hotels as rooms are limited in this popular place. If you are going to South Haven the Holiday Inn Express is a nice place to stay, just don't expect a hot tub, unless you get one in your room.

Room Tip: Don't choose a suite if there is only two of you. There is extra space but it is not very suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Irishrover1019,

Thank you so much for choosing Holiday Inn Express in South Haven! I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time spent not only in South Haven, but at our hotel as well. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and suggestions for our property. Because we are committed to providing an excellent hotel to our guests, we welcome all feedback. Comments like yours help us improve the quality and service in the future. Thank you!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
35
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The room here was OK, pretty stuffy and the TV didn't have good picture at all. The bed was comfy though and the bathroom was OK as well. The breakfast was OK at best, very continental. Ok hotel to stay at if you're visiting South Haven for a few nights.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear PeTTer K,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our property. We take all guest feedback very seriously and strive for excellence at our hotel. I'm happy to hear that our hotel met your needs, but I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. Please know that I value your comments and will be addressing any issues with my staff. Thank you!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

friendly and knowledgeable staff. Rooms were spacious and clean. My friends and I were up just for a ladies night out and they were able to get us to all the great shops and restaurants in the area even around the road construction down town. Breakfast hostess was very pleasant and kept everything fresh and full.

Room Tip: 3rd floor above everyone:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Sherry M,

I am thrilled to hear that you and your party were able to enjoy your time spent in South Haven! Thank you for sharing your kind words and compliments! On behalf of my entire staff, thank you for staying with us! We are all looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl Junction
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The stay at this hotel was excellent. The desk agent was especially helpful in obtaining a handicap room. Shelly Dutkiewicz was the agent and she was courteous and professional. She helped us locate our next days travel plans and recommended a very good restaurant for the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear John B,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your compliments! On behalf of Shelly and the rest of my staff, we thank you and are looking forward to your next visit!

Regards,

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express with Priority Club points for 3 days. We were able to get the Presidential Suite, which was large and had plenty of room for a family. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was complete and good, it varied each day. They offered hot beverages all day, and sometimes had fresh fruit through the afternoon. As a priority club member, we were given a snack and bottled water on check in.

We did have to ask for housekeeping after the first night, but when I called, they came right up. The location is a short drive to the beach and town. I have no complaints about this hotel. The room and the public areas of the hotel were clean, neat and comfortable. The pool was nice. It would be nice to have a hot tub as well. It was a good location close enough to what we wanted to do. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Michigan f,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to review our property! Your comments are truly appreciated! We strive to be a great hotel that guests love. Compliments like yours are great motivation for all of us to continue in our hard work! On behalf of my entire staff, thank you!

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Spent two nights here while visiting South Haven. Not much to add after having read the other reviews. The location was good, a hot breakfast was included, and everyone was very nice. The room was what I would expect for a Holiday Inn, not large but certainly adequate, and it was very clean. A small refrigerator and microwave were included. The only thing that I wish was different was that the jacuzzi was in the bedroom portion of the room, rather than in the bathroom. This, however, was not a big deal as it was just the two of us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Carole0113,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience! I am happy to hear that you were pleased with our hotel and I hope you enjoyed your visit to South Haven! Hope to see you again soon!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed on the third floor, to avoid having people above us. The room was nice and clean. There was good curtains that kept the room nice and dark. The front desk called shortly after checking in to make sure everything was good with the room. That was a nice touch. The pool was great. Perfect temp, but no hot tub which was disappointing after a long day of walking around. The fitness room was also nice. The breakfast was great. The woman working the breakfast area made sure to keep everything well stocked and cleaned. The food was all fresh and tasty with a nice variety. Even better was that for the 2 mornings that we were here, the breakfast was different. Nice to have some variety. The location of the hotel was nice. Just off the freeway, but far enough that you don't get the traffic noise. And it's walking distance to the Sherman's dairy bar! Town and the beach were just a short drive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear natys_mommy,

Thank you so much for your kind words and compliments! I am truly grateful that you took the time to tell us about your stay at our hotel. My staff and I work very hard to make our hotel an enjoyable experience. I will be sure to pass along your compliments! We hope to see you again soon!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Haven

Address: 1741 Phoenix Rd, South Haven, MI 49090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites South Haven may be defined as a limited service hotel by the industry...no room service, restaurant, bellman, doorman, and so on. But our team defines us differently. It's about delivering service that creates a bond with the individual and the brand. And this is what S.M.A.R.T. Service is all about. The hotel features indoor pool, inside corridors, and fitness center. All our spacious guest rooms have voice mail, data ports, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and iron & boards. Free high-speed Internet throughout building. We Have a new Express Start breakfast with more items to choose from (you have to see it). Area attractions include downtown South Haven and Lake Michigan. Only one mile away. Visit South Haven, MI and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Make sure you Stay Smart and stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Haven Hotel South Haven
Holiday Inn South Haven
South Haven Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.