We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“travel made easy :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Haven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express South Haven to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Phoenix Rd, South Haven, MI 49090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Franklin, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“travel made easy :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Kevin C. helped me plan for 36 senior adults to come for the Tulip Festival. We were given a excellant rate and treated like kings and queens. The staff was excellant and helpful with every question we had. Everything was very clean. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hester C,

Thank you so much for the compliments and kind words regarding our property! We were happy to be your host during your visit to the Tulip Time Festival. I'm thrilled to hear that you and your group had such a great time!

Hopefully we will see you again next year, if not sooner!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    39
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
36
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Rooms are cheaper during off season - and Lake Michigan is always a beautiful place to visit. We enjoyed ourselves very much in a room with a jacuzzi. Breakfast was very good. Room very clean! I would have given 5 stars but one of the jacuzzi jets didn't work properly.

Room Tip: Make sure all the jets work in the jacuzzi in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Carol B,

Thank you so much for your compliments for our property! I am happy that you chose to stay with us! South Haven and Lake Michigan are beautiful to visit, and I'm glad you were able to enjoy the scenery!

I apologize for the jets not working properly, but I appreciate you taking the time to inform us of the issue.

Hope to see you again in the future!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, MI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We had an easy check in & got some treats for being rewards members. The room was nice & clean, had a king jacuzzi suite. Bed did not seem as big as our king bed at home but not a huge deal just seemed strange. Breakfast was decent, we got there late but there was plenty left. Had full cable, not rje 10 channels i am use to in a hotel so that was a nice surprise. Easy to get to & was a nice little getaway from the kids, no complaints!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
pjdeeds,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time spent at our hotel! We are also very happy with the way our remodel project is turning out, and can't wait for the finished product!

Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Express as your getaway! We hope to see you again soon!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Though not bike-able with kids, this was an good, affordable alternative place to stay, when we couldn't find anything in downtown South Haven. A short 1-mile drive gets you to the Beach, restaurants and shops. This new hotel is clean, nicely decorated & offers friendly service, a great indoor pool, free breakfast bar & free wifi. We were pleasantly surprised and would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Angeegrogan,

I am thrilled that you chose to stay at our hotel during your trip to South Haven last summer! I am even more thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind words and recommendation!

Also, we are currently finishing up some renovations at our hotel this spring. You would not believe the transformation that has taken place here. I look forward to sharing these exciting changes with you the next time you come visit!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a question about their cribs and they got one out and showed it to me with no hesitation. The first room we were given didn't smell right. I told the front desk and they gave us another room with no problem and apologized. The 2nd room was perfect. I only mention this to show what good customer service they gave. The price was very reasonable. The room was very clean. We will stay here again if we are in the area. As a side note - the pool was under construction while we were there. But we would not have used it anyway for the one night we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear packer022049,

Thank you for compliments regarding our hotel and staff. We take great pride in our ability to deliver excellent customer service. Again, I apologize for the condition of the first room and can assure you the odor has been eliminated. I'm happy we found a room that you and your family were able to enjoy! Looking forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demotte, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

for one night...desk girl very friendly, and gave us another room due to the person/persons above us who were making a lot of noise. I appreciated that. Great location... Carpets throughout stained and worn, but other than that, no complaint.

Room Tip: Get top floor...for a fairly new hotel the floors seem to be thin, hence noisy and squeaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Larry B,

Thank you for your compliments regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express - South Haven, MI. I'm glad we were able to accommodate your needs throughout your stay.

I'd also like to apologize for the condition of our carpet. We will actually be replacing all the carpet and furniture throughout our entire hotel this Winter. We are very excited to share our "new" hotel with our guests!

We'd love for you to come back and see the changes we've made!

Thanks again!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express in the charming Lake Michigan port town of South Haven with my wife for 4 days while on a temporary work assignment. The hotel is conveniently located just off the Interstate and two miles from downtown. The room was moderately comfortable, but with inadequate lighting. The bed and the pillows were comfortable. Wi-Fi was available and worked well. The complimentary hot breakfasts were quite adequate. The hotel has a small fitness room and an indoor pool. The facility is somewhat dated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
LouBobHarborSprings,

Thank you for your comments. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your time at our hotel.

I would also like to add that we are going through some exciting renovations this Winter. In addition to new carpet and furniture throughout our hotel, there will be a brand new lighting package in the rooms!

We would love for you to come visit us again and enjoy our updated hotel!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Haven

Address: 1741 Phoenix Rd, South Haven, MI 49090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites South Haven may be defined as a limited service hotel by the industry...no room service, restaurant, bellman, doorman, and so on. But our team defines us differently. It's about delivering service that creates a bond with the individual and the brand. And this is what S.M.A.R.T. Service is all about. The hotel features indoor pool, inside corridors, and fitness center. All our spacious guest rooms have voice mail, data ports, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and iron & boards. Free high-speed Internet throughout building. We Have a new Express Start breakfast with more items to choose from (you have to see it). Area attractions include downtown South Haven and Lake Michigan. Only one mile away. Visit South Haven, MI and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Make sure you Stay Smart and stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Haven Hotel South Haven
Holiday Inn South Haven
South Haven Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.