We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel and friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South Haven

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express South Haven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Phoenix Rd, South Haven, MI 49090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in South Haven
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel and friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express in the charming Lake Michigan port town of South Haven with my wife for 4 days while on a temporary work assignment. The hotel is conveniently located just off the Interstate and two miles from downtown. The room was moderately comfortable, but with inadequate lighting. The bed and the pillows were comfortable. Wi-Fi was available and worked well. The complimentary hot breakfasts were quite adequate. The hotel has a small fitness room and an indoor pool. The facility is somewhat dated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
LouBobHarborSprings,

Thank you for your comments. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your time at our hotel.

I would also like to add that we are going through some exciting renovations this Winter. In addition to new carpet and furniture throughout our hotel, there will be a brand new lighting package in the rooms!

We would love for you to come visit us again and enjoy our updated hotel!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
28
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Wayne, IN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was a "girlfriends" trip to the wineries and shops in the South Haven area. We had one of their 2 Queen Suite rooms and it worked out really well for 4 ladies traveling together. This room had some extra space with a table for 2 and a love seat (that would make another bed) and coffee table. We were able to pull the table to the love seat and it worked fine for playing cards. The bathroom had a full length vanity that held everyone's stuff and 2 extra mirrors out in the room made make-up and hair time a lot easier. They have a great breakfast with lots of choices like pancakes, eggs, biscuits & gravy, etc. The friendly staff keeping everything refilled and neat. The beds were comfy. The room was very clean. Our only negative was the fan in the bathroom that made a horrible racket when turned on for someone to shower. Nice location also with easy access to the freeway and local restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
1963corvette,

I truly appreciate your comments. Thank you for your compliments! I'm thrilled that our hotel helped make a great vacation for you and your friends!

Come back and see us!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This group of people are fantastic. I did not meet a bad one in the bunch. From the front desk to the housekeeping staff. Look, they know that there hall carpet needs replaced, but you don't will stay here again when I come back to South Haven sleep in the hall. The beds were comfortable,The rooms were clean. Good breakfast. Scrambled eggs with biscuts and gravy along with pancakes and Egg omelets the next. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Gjason G,

We take great pride in our ability to provide excellent customer service for all of our guests. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your experience!

Also, new carpet is coming this Winter!

Looking forward to see you again!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

No, its not one of those fabulous B&B's near Lake Michigan, but for what it is - - a chain hotel on the other side of the highway, this is one of the best. Newly remodeled (with the new room furniture soon to be installed) with great service and looking to please staff, this Holiday Inn Express is a leader in its category. We were upgraded to a suite because of our Priority Club status and the room was clean, quiet, and offered plenty of space. There was plenty of parking and the hot breakfasts were as advertised. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
RJIL,

Your comments are greatly appreciated! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade as a Priority Club member!

Our new furniture is on its way!

Come back and check us out again!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, KY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Holiday Inn Express, was average nothing fancy nothing plain. Although customer service was excellent, every person working there was nice, friendly, helpful and Smiling (this seems to have gone by the way side in alot of places) They truly acted as though they enjoyed their jobs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
bsbeehler,

On behalf of my entire staff, it was our pleasure to serve you. We take pride in what we do and like to share our passion with our guests. Thank you for your compliments!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went here on a last minute trip and when they had only one room left, Kevin allowed us to use our priority club points plus some cash to book the last room and then bonused us with a super nice upgrade! The hotel is lovely but the service is spectacular. I travel quite a bit for business and have always been a loyal Marriott cardholder. Holiday Inn will be my go-to hotel in the future :-)

Room Tip: we were on the back side of the hotel, 3rd floor up, away from the road, but any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Searching3,

I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay at our property! The pleasure was all mine to accommodate your last minute needs!

I look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Having stayed here a few years ago, but never really dazzled, I hadn't been back in a while. However, I gave this property another chance in July 2012 (about 18 months after my most recent stay to this hotel), and I am very glad I tried them again. The remodeling is complete, the rooms are beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The last time I had stayed here was in early 2011 when the Holiday Inn sign was still the purple-and-orange logo, now the new green "swish" logo should tell you something. THey've updated everything, including the staff. The staff are now mostly the "good" people that used to work at the Hampton across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express South Haven, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
JuniorJuniorBuckeye,

I am so happy you decided to give us a second chance! I would also like to add that we are currently in our last phase of renovations right now. We will be replacing all the carpet and furniture throughout our hotel!

I believe you will be even more amazed the next time you join us!

Kevin Christians
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express South Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South Haven

Address: 1741 Phoenix Rd, South Haven, MI 49090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South Haven 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites South Haven may be defined as a limited service hotel by the industry...no room service, restaurant, bellman, doorman, and so on. But our team defines us differently. It's about delivering service that creates a bond with the individual and the brand. And this is what S.M.A.R.T. Service is all about. The hotel features indoor pool, inside corridors, and fitness center. All our spacious guest rooms have voice mail, data ports, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and iron & boards. Free high-speed Internet throughout building. We Have a new Express Start breakfast with more items to choose from (you have to see it). Area attractions include downtown South Haven and Lake Michigan. Only one mile away. Visit South Haven, MI and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Make sure you Stay Smart and stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Haven Hotel South Haven
Holiday Inn South Haven
South Haven Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.