We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ice Cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherman's Dairy Bar

Sherman's Dairy Bar
1601 Phoenix Road, South Haven, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 60 Restaurants in South Haven
Cuisines: American, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: This is a very popular ice cream shop, apparently Sherman's Ice Cream is a favorite in Michigan. Many flavors, very good ice cream. Phone 269.637.8251. Also, the ice cream is carried at some restaurants in South Haven, MI.
Munster, Indiana
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you are anywhere near So. Haven and have a sweet tooth then stop at Shermans for ice cream. They have tons of flavors and the malted milk ball is one of the best. It's almost always packed, but worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    38
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Baby size is big enough for two adults!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Sherman's Ice Cream is sold throughout South Haven; its base is out on Phoenix Road. If you're staying at the Baymont Inn or Hampton Inn, you're in walking distance. We were told to look for the blue cow, but it's not all that visible until you turn into the parking lot.
We were told that the portions are more than generous, so we got the "baby size" cones--which is like one and half scoops! The selection is amazing. It was crowded but we didn't have a long wait. I didn't find it extraordinary but it was very good. You can find their ice cream at Captain Nemo's and at the North Shore Beach concession stand if you don't want to trek out of the city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“MOST AWESOME ICE CREAM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have been coming to South Haven, MI every summer for the past 16 years. Our most favorite thing we look forward to every evening is a trip to Sherman's. Now my grand kids have been exposed and have started a new generation "LET'S GO TO SHERMAN'S"!! Let me tell you something for all of the NEY SAYERS that have left mixed reviews, they have NO IDEA WHAT THE HELL THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT!! It is worth the wait and I will guarantee you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went in the evening (around 9pm) and it was packed. If you don't want to wait, go earlier in the day when there's no line. We took a number and waited about 20 min to get served. I had Oatmeal Cookie baby cone and my mom had Peanut Butter Cookie Dough baby cone. Both were delicious and plenty for us. It was well worth the wait

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not sure we would go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We all love good ice cream and this was ok, but the craziness of taking a number, hollering your order and being pushed to get out of the way was a bit much.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherman's Dairy Bar also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Sherman's Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherman's Dairy Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.