We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the "Tour of Sherman's!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sherman's Dairy Bar

Sherman's Dairy Bar
1601 Phoenix Road, South Haven, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 60 Restaurants in South Haven
Cuisines: American, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: This is a very popular ice cream shop, apparently Sherman's Ice Cream is a favorite in Michigan. Many flavors, very good ice cream. Phone 269.637.8251. Also, the ice cream is carried at some restaurants in South Haven, MI.
Avilla, Indiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Take the "Tour of Sherman's!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Yum-yum! What great ice cream! My husband & I shared a "Tour of Sherman's" 6-scoop sundae (each scoop topped with whipped cream & a cherry -- so it was almost too "pretty" to eat!) (-:
Especially enjoyed the blueberry, amaretto cherry amour, peanut butter cookie dough, & toffee flavors. Don't miss this little local dairy bar -- It's a treat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    38
    14
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Grove, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dieter Beware”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This place was a nightmare! After dieting for weeks I made the mistake of visiting this establishment and was overwhelmed by the size of the "single" cone .. it was a monster! The cone could barely contain the massive amount of cocanut almond fudge. I of course gobbled it down before my husband paid for the treats .. it was the BEST ICE CREAM I'VE EVER HAD! My waistline is angry but it was worth falling off the wagon for this taste of PERFECTION! You guys rock!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great ice cream, but not worth the wait.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I do love Sherman's, but there is nothing special about standing in line for a half hour or more with one million screaming kids running all over the place. I prefer to go downtown to one of the other ice cream shops that sells Sherman's ice cream. It's just as good, half the wait, half the hassle.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk City, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Huge, Delicious Waffle Cones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I highly recommend Sherman's ice cream. I've been going since I was three when my family began renting a nearby house for a family reunion. We try to be sure to go every day that we're there. My favorite flavors are chocolate malt supreme, mocha fudge, and chocomania. Other family favorites are pistachio, praline pecan, butter pecan, and chocolate almond. The portions are huge, and the ice cream is delicious. One family tradition is for new couples to try to eat a Pig's Dinner on their first visit. Good Luck!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome ice cream with HUGE portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is a hidden gem! If you've never experienced Sherman's ice cream, it is a must! The portions are huge and the ice cream is delightful. Don't let the long line discourage you because it's worth the short wait! :) If you can't find at least one flavor you love here, there's something wrong with you!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherman's Dairy Bar also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Sherman's Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherman's Dairy Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.