We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family joint.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Nemos

Captain Nemos
407 Phoenix St, South Haven, MI 49090-1192
269-637-5372
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 60 Restaurants in South Haven
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice family joint.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

May be a bit busy but the staff is very nice and the american food isn't bad and the menu had a lot of choices. Plus the ice cream is amazing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dirty place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Nasty place. Dirty tables, sticky floor. Greasy food. Needs better management. Workers seemed overwhelmed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy ice cream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After dinner next door, we went to Capt. Nemos for dessert. They have amazing ice cream flavors. We chose the following: chocolatemania, toffee, French silk and black cherry. We all loved every flavor. The long line does move quick! I can't wait to go back and try other flavors!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWUSA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

OK, OK, Captain Nemo's can serve you lunch. They can serve you dinner. Their menu is typical burgers / sandwiches / fries and if you eat their you won't be disappointed.

But go for the ice cream. They serve massive portions of some very good brand. $3.50 or so gets you all any sane person really wants to eat, and since the friendly staff know it's too big for the sugar cones they'll suggest you take a styro bowl to go with it. Other places may have wild flavors and tons of toppings but Nemo's is exactly where I want to be on a hot summer day after the beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, Great prices and Good service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I truly enjoy stopping here everytime I'm in town for a beach trip. The food is always delicious and the waffle cones and ice cream are always a great treat! I suggest this place to anyone looking for great food at an awesome value!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Nemos also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Captain Nemos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Nemos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.