We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Su Casa Restaurante

Su Casa Restaurante
206 Center Street, South Haven, MI 49090
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 60 Restaurants in South Haven
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Su Casa has great food and great service. Usually busy during the summer months but what do you expect?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    63
    21
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nothing special for the long wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Went here with family of four based on the reviews on TA. Good location and service at the bar was very good. After about 45 minutes we were seated at a table that had been vacant since we arrived so I knew management and service were going to be a problem. While our waitress tried to make up for the extraordinary wait for the table with nobody at it, it went downhill from here. Hostess is a joke. Skip unless you sit at the bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Portion = Good size. Taste = Great. Service = Excellent. Speed = Slow. This is a great place, if you are not in a hurry and know how to read a bill. In South Haven it seems to take between 20 and 30 minutes for ALL of the restaurants to get your food. The also do not take reservations and are usually very busy. We went with a big group and were seated right away, as luck would have it. It took 35 minutes to get the main course. In the end they screwed up the bill, of course in their favor, and we still tipped them 20%. Our wives did the calculations and missed the add-ons that we never got. They're in business to make money and they certainly know how to do that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our family of 6 ate there last night after waiting 30 minutes. There always seemed to be a wait when we passed this restaurant and with good reason. Good food all around. Reading other reviews, there were quite a few mentions regarding slow service but we did not experience this. Service was quite good in fact. No one had a bad meal. Would easily go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, drink and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have been coming here for two years now. Food is great....if you don't see it on the menu they will make it! Lots of authentic mexican options here.....including the homemade sauces!! Drinks are good. Very reasonable. Great atmosphere. Come dressed any way you'd like. Addition of the porch this year is very cool.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Su Casa Restaurante also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Su Casa Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Su Casa Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.