We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black River Tavern

Black River Tavern
403 Phoenix St, South Haven, MI 49090
+1 269-637-4837
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 60 Restaurants in South Haven
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: 2 GREAT BARS...ONE GREAT LOCATION! OVERLOOKING HARBOR AND LAKE MICHIGAN! DAILY FOOD & DRINK SPECIALS OUTDOOR SEATING AVAILABLE FEATURING LIVE MUSIC WEEKENDS PROFESSIONAL STAND-UP COMEDY FEATURING NATIONALLY-TOURING HEADLINING COMEDIANS EVERY SATURDAY NIGHT! VOTED "BEST OF 2014"... *BAR FOOD *LIVE ENTERTAINMENT *BEER SELECTION *SPECIALTY DRINKS
Sturgis, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We decided to eat here for our supper and the service was awesome. They were right on us with whatever we needed and the restaurant was clean and the food was yummy.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    17
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stopped in for lunch. I liked the atmosphere inside. They had a nice menu. I had the chicken taco's and they were excellent. I would come back for sure if were in town again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't share”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We went on a busy weekend, but the place was nearly empty- that should have been our first indication it was a night club and not good for a lunch stop. We ordered and asked to share. The server asked if we wanted lettuce, tomato, onion and cheese and we said we did. Our meal came with the sandwich cut in half. Everything was on one plate and they didn't add anything to the sandwich. When I pointed that out, he came with a plate of lettuce tomato and onion, which was fine. When we got the bill, we were charged a "share fee". To cut the sandwich in half? I understand when they serve the meal on 2 plates and split up the sides, but the fee was apparently to cut the sandwich in half for us. They also charged extra for cheese, which was not communicated as extra- it was offered as a regular option. The server was terrible- we had to go up to the bar after waiting a while for our check. The food was OK, but the service and surprises on the bill weren't worth going again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, OH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tavern with a view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Typical tavern atmosphere is what you'll find here. Very dark inside unless you sit up front like we did to get a nice view of the lake. Pool table in the back. We went on a weekday for lunch and were only one of two tables eating food. I had the coastal crab cakes on mini pretzel rolls which was very tasty. Kids meals were a bit pricey compared to other places in town.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Typical bar food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Table not clean , found several hairs on the table. Several of us had the fish and chips.The fish had very heavy batter. The Ruben Sandwich was good. Overall would not go back if visiting South Haven

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black River Tavern also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Black River Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black River Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.