We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Harbor Inn
Save
You added Old Harbor Inn to your Saves list
515 Williams Street, South Haven, MI 49090   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off 2nd Weekday Night
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Castalia,Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This was a very nice hotel in a lovely little beach town. Our room faced downtown but also had a balcony that looked out to the harbor. Room had kitchenette,nice chair and also table and chairs inside room and outside room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
25
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have been staying here off and on for many years but...the beds are just bad. The queen was higher in the middle and I could not find a position that was comfortable. The pull out bed on the couch had the material ripped and springs exposed. Their solution was to give us a roll-a-way bed because they were out of air mattresses.
They just really need to replace these very old items. I have tried other rooms and same problem.
I would have given a worsr review if it were not for the river-side view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I had stayed at Old Harbor years ago and decided to return for our 21st anniversary. The room we booked was the jacuzzi suite: it was clean and well appointed. The views from our private balcony was spectacular. Everything was great except, and this was huge, there was an entrance door to the hotel located right next to our room. It banged open and closed all night: the noise from the door was LOUD! We did not get to sleep until after 4:30 am. At $300.00 a night, we expected much more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

If you are looking for a fun place with shops and boaters and nightlife, don't visit South Haven in the off season. Most shops do not open until Memorial Day and it was like a ghost town. On the other hand, if you stay at the Old Harbor Inn and don't enjoy nightlife, you'd best not go when the summer partiers are around or you won't get much sleep. Our room overlooked the harbor and had a balcony just above what appeared to be a great spot for late night partying. This would not be a prime location if you did not want to participate. The room was clean enough and nice enough with some great amenities, but it seemed a bit unloved and awkward. The big screen tv was in an armoire sitting beside the sofa so there is no way you could see it from anywhere except the small kitchen area or the bed. This armoire was nice, as was the closet area, but there are many doors that, if left open, could be painful obstacles if you need to make a trip to the bathroom during the night. The room access is outside and on the second level of a boardwalk area. The parking is not close. On a rainy day, you would get drenched getting your things to and from the room. The indoor pool and hot tub are located in the lobby building which can only be reached by going outdoors and down the sidewalk. For those who need bathroom counter space, there was only a tiny corner shelf; however, there were two electrical outlets nearby which was nice. The jacuzzi tub was great but is also the shower so getting in/out of the shower involved clumsily climbing over the wide, tall, side of the tub. We spent a day just north of South Haven in Saugatuck and wished we'd stayed there. Most of the shops and restaurants were open. The purpose of our trip was to visit wineries and we were not disappointed. There are several nice ones in this general area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Unfortunately, I did not read the reviews on TA before booking. I think people sum it up well:

1. OUTDATED (there was a phone in the room made by GTE!)
2. loud because of bar below
3. nice staff

I would recommend this for some a group of college students, not a family or romantic getaway. Nothing luxurious at all about this place.
The "pool' had a capacity for 10 people

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed three nights at this hotel in a "deluxe" room. I'm not really sure what was deluxe about it. The room smelled HORRIBLE...like mildew and smoke, even though it was a non-smoking room. Our door opened right onto the street side and didn't have a lock. The door automatically locked, but it didn't have a security chain or deadbolt. I never felt safe inside the room.

We didn't encounter noise as we were there during the off-season and pretty much everything was closed. We did appreciate the free WiFi and basic cable.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

When we drove up, the location was perfect. Right on the harbor and a couple blocks from "main street". We have 2 young kids so got the 2 bedroom suite so they could go to bed early and we could relax at night. Soooo... I would like to say positive because the staff was nice and the location was great, but a couple things:

1) It is located between probably the 2 main bars in south haven. Yorks landing and the idler. We had drunks yelling and drinking and fighting outside right outside our door till 3 in the morning. Even on the hotel policy it says something to the effect of "we are not responsible for noise before 2am". It was ridiculous. Luckily our kids are heavy sleepers.

2) Room was just "ok". Nothing like the pics on their website. They basically took a 1 bedroom and threw up some drywall to make it a 2 bedroom which in effect made 2 very small bedrooms (just enough room for a bed) and a very cramped living room area and a hallway kitchenette.

3) "Private patio" was not private nor a patio. We asked 3 times before we reserved if the room has a private patio and were told 3 times yes it does. Welp figures, when we got there the "private patio" was the wood walkway that goes by the front door. They just put a table and chair on the walkway and call it a patio. It was the walkway to the rest of the rooms and also used by the people leaving the Idler so our "private patio" had foot traffic all day and night walking through it. We did not even use it. Actually made things worse at night when people were drinking right outside our door on our private patio.

4) No bath. The 3 year old had his first shower and the 1 year old bathed in the sink.

Like I said, location is great and most of these negatives are worse for people with families, but I would never go back. Even if it was a perfect room with a great deck and open bar and free food, the noise at night was almost unbearable. AND IT WAS A SUNDAY AND MONDAY NIGHT which was even more ridiculous. I couldnt imagine if we were there on a friday/sat night when the live bands play at yorks landing.

I really think the staff was nice so hate to do this review, but I got to call them out on this. If it was me and my buddies going to south haven to party, this would be the place, but not for families. At least not in the room location we had. Sorry old harbor :(

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbor Inn

Address: 515 Williams Street, South Haven, MI 49090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Harbor Inn is the only lodging property on the waterfront in downtown South Haven. Explore all of South Haven’s attractions, dining, wine tasting,shopping beaches, entertainment venues, parks and more all walking distance. Harbor View rooms have private balconies perched high above the water, with stunning panoramic views. Or choose the value minded Downtown View and Harbor Landing rooms. Also Deluxe Suites with fireplaces and Jacuzzi’s, and some with two bedrooms. At Old Harbor Inn, the views, the attractions, the fun, are all outside your door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Harbor Hotel South Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.