We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway for two newlyweds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House at the Harbor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House at the Harbor
118 Woodman, South Haven, MI 49090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 South Haven B&B and Inns
Livonia, MI
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway for two newlyweds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

My husband and I are newly weds and wanted a romantic weekend away from the hustle and bustle. It was our first trip to South Haven and I picked this place based on the reviews on this site. What a magnificent place! There were other couples, all friendly, all age ranges. The Innkeepers were wonderful people and helped to keep the massage I planned for my husband a secret. The masseuse came directy to our room (Barouche up on the third floor) and we had a jacuzzi we used every night. The room was clean and tasteful. The breakfasts and hors d'oevres were delicious - not just carrot sticks and some ranch, you could make a meal out of it. Though my husband preferred the fresh baked cookies every afternoon. The Inn was very close to the harbor, the beach, and the downtown areas. You could be as social as you wanted, or as reclusive as you wanted.

I could not say enough good things about this place. I liked it so much I Want to say bad things so no one else will go and we'll have availability whenever we want!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    11
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
126
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Twp., MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We rented the entire Bed and Breakfast for the weekend and enjoyed a most incredible stay. We wanted Mom's 80th birthday to be special and it was! From the beautifully decorated rooms to the delicious hors d'oeuvres and breakfast, we couldn't have asked for more. David and Suzanne, along with the entire staff, were so accommodating. It was obvious that making this a wonderful weekend for all of us was their priority. We felt like we were at home, cozy and relaxed, without any of the work it takes to entertain a house full of guests. It was a
weekend we'll always remember!
I've been recommending the Carriage House to friends and family ever since my first stay there over 5 years ago. It continues to be a favorite get-away . . . a wonderful spot to relax and enjoy a lovely stay .

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

Just finished a great 3-night stay at the Carriage House. We chose CHH because it provides an outstanding property with great service, proximity to Lake Michigan WITH a harbor view, AND proximity to downtown South Haven. We did a lot of shopping around and believe this is the only B&B in South Haven that has all of these features.

Breakfasts were tasty and unique, with 4-5 items each day and served in a large room overlooking the harbor. (Their website has sample menus and is very representative of what you will get.) The evening Hors d’oeuvres, while not lavish, were a nice touch, and provided an opportunity to talk to other guests and get ideas for things to do and dinner spots. It's a short walk to Lake Michigan's endless beaches (if you like to walk the shore) and a short walk to SH's restaurant's and shops. Apparently, Saugatuck may have some better restaurants and more quaint shops, but SH was fine for us.

Clementine's and Tello's (more upscale) for dinner were great; Harborside Bistro for dinner was OK, reminded us of a restaurant at a Holiday Inn. Julia's has Intelligentia Coffee (the best coffee in Chicago) so that was a daily stop. We drove to the St. Julian Winery in Paw Paw and that was nice, but some other guests visited the winery in Fennville (much closer) and had a good time as well. We also visited the Saugatuck Brewing Co. in Douglas on Hwy. A2 (Blue Star); good beer, food and atmosphere; highly recommended for beer lovers. If you need some exercise, climb the stairs to the top of Mt. Baldhead in Saugatuck; your quads will burn!

Service at CHH was just right; very attentive and helpful, but never intrusive.

We also visited New Buffalo, St. Joe and Saugatuck (as mentioned above) and feel that South Haven is the place to go for small town, waterside atmosphere, direct access to Lake Michigan, and proximity to other towns and points of interest. South Haven is the place to go, and the Carriage House is the best spot in South Haven!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

The Carriage House was a wonderful spot to spend some quality time with friends. The owners, David and Suzanne ,couldn't be more hospitable and welcoming. Excellent breakfasts kept us going all day. Warm appetizers in the evening kicked off our dinner celebrations. Our host sprovided excellent suggestions for dining. Accomodations are first rate. You can't go wrong at the Carriage House.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur,Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

It was such a delightful way to spend a very snowy weekend in January. I have been to this B&B before with girlfriends, but this was the first time with my husband for a romantic weekend. Suzanne and David and the staff are outstanding!! They make you feel so welcome! Our room the Victoria was so clean and cozy and inviting! We have already booked for next January!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA`
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

My husband and I literally stumbled across The Carriage House while exploring coastal western Michigan. Suzanne and David, the owners/innkeepers, were so pleasant and accommodating and the inn was so gorgeous that we checked out of our other inn and decided to stay two nights here. Our third floor room, The Troika room, was lovely and cozy with a beautiful bed, gas fireplace, and view of the South Haven harbor. Breakfast was delicious and gourmet, and included scones and Devonshire cream. Since we were there for New Year's Eve, Suzanne and David prepared wonderful appetizers and a candlelit dinner for their guests. Overall, our visit was truly magical and we give The Carriage House our highest recommendation!

  • Liked — Lovely inn and wonderful owners
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood,IN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

Our October stay at the Carriage House was as great as our May stay, and happy to say that we'll be able to include a winter stay now that retirement has arrived. I think we're on our third set of owners, and am happy to state that the quality of accommodations, food, and atmosphere have remained constatnt; tremendous.

We disco vered years ago that we could get to a beach/Ocean atmosphere from Indianapolis by driving 4 hours to South Haven instead of 14 to the Myrtle Beach area, and have been hooked ever since. We noticed the Carriage House on our first trip and booked a night for our next trip; we've been hooked ever since.

Things to expect from the Carriage House: great rooms (my wife could tell you all the different names and the ones she likes best,, but I like them all without knowing the names), great location as you can walk across the street to the beach or look out the back to see the boats in the harbor, great restaurants in the area (hard to pass up Clementines), a breakfast that you're not going to have at home, and, of course, very friendly service.

Looking forward to being able to having more two night stays now that we're enjoying the retirement life.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carriage House at the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House at the Harbor

Address: 118 Woodman, South Haven, MI 49090
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in South Haven
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful harbor-side mansion was the first, and only, Bed and Breakfast in Michigan to receive the coveted AAA Four Diamond Award. It boasts 12 uniquely inviting guest rooms, each elegantly appointed with a private bath, comfy robes, and first class amenities. Many have cozy fireplaces, whirlpools, and private porches overlooking the harbor. Breakfast is a not to be forgotten experience at the Carriage House Harbor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage House At The Harbor Hotel South Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House at the Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carriage House at the Harbor to your Saves list