We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the view but not much else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Bluff Inn and Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Save
You added Lake Bluff Inn and Suites to your Saves list
76648 11th Ave., South Haven, MI 49090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the view but not much else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We made reservations well in advance for what we thought was a "suite". Apparently their idea of a suite is one small room with a fireplace and hot tub squeezed in. The bathroom was so small you could barely turn around in it. The water just reeked of some metal smell; so much so that I couldn't use it to take my medicine. The hot tub was in the corner of the room and you had to get into it to adjust the blinds. The bed was as hard as a stone and the linen was threadbare including a tear in the blanket that had been sewn together. There was nothing luxurious about this place at all and we were in a "luxury" suite.
The information about the place included a rec room with a ping pong table etc. When we asked about it the woman at the desk told us where it was located but neglected to tell us everything had been put away for the season.
The complimentary breakfast was okay but not as good as normal fare at a place like Hampton Inn.
Although we had a beautiful view you can do lots better elsewhere. I felt they made false claims about the accommodations and I would advise you to stay away.

Room Tip: Get a room elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff Inn S, Manager at Lake Bluff Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on the hotel. It is absolutely the feedback of our guests that continue to keep us moving forward and focused on improving on all fronts. There are definitely a handful of experiences you had that are disappointing to me and are unacceptable and I will personally address them. The consistency of experience we provide through each staff engagement is key to the consistency of the overall guest experience. I assure you I will personally re-inspect that each team member is focused on providing the same high level service to each and every guest at every engagement.

My sincere apology that we were not able to provide a better all-around experience for you but I assure you your feedback will be used to improve our hotel, our service and our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    5
    18
    22
See reviews for
43
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

BEWARE OF THE OWNERS AND UNWRITTEN RULES !!
We booked this place for our sons wedding and here are things you need to know before you do the same.
1. The Owners run this place and live onsite. They tell you that you have to rent 20 rooms for the first night and 40 rooms for the second night. The cost comes to around $13,000 plus a $500 deposit. When the guests reserve a room, they are charged one night room charge as deposit. This is non-refundable. When you check in you have to pay the remaining amount in full.
Now, If the rooms they have specified on your list have not all been rented, even if your guests rent other rooms not on the list AND extra nights that are not required, you still have to pay for those unrented rooms. The owners collected a lot more than the $13,500 for the rented rooms. It should be a flat fee and the prices of the rooms rented are deducted from this amount. Must be too hard to figure that out. Also I will be watching my credit card account as they took my card number over the phone, but said they had not charged me. I payed again for a room I had reserved.
2. The grounds had been driven across with a heavy vehicle/equipment and had not been repaired. We had deep ruts in the grass where our tent was. You had to be careful where you walked all day and night. Pretty precarious when you are dressed up and carrying a drink or food.
3. The rooms are okay, but in need of update and repairs. We found many rooms that the blinds did not work plus other minor repairs that were overlooked. The mattresses are cheap & hard. They also did not clean up any trash on the grounds after our rehearsal dinner. There were not many trash cans around, so we had put the trash in boxes. They were still there the next noon and we had to clean everything up before the wedding.
4. The breakfast I will have to say was very good. I don't know if this is just because it was a wedding weekend.
5. The unwritten rules they do not tell you about.
They called the police twice for noise violations. The first time they said the music was too loud, the second time the guests were just visiting and we had to shut down the party. They even told some quests they could no longer be in the game room.
When we toured the property, given all the information for renting the grounds and even the many times we were in contact with this venue, nothing was said about a curfew. There were rumors the following day about a 11:00 PM (unwritten) curfew.

We were also concerned that we may be overcharged for clean up since they were upset, so we cleaned up the grounds before leaving on Sunday.

Yes, we had a lovely time after the water spout tornado and hail in the morning of the wedding, plus the intermittent rain after the out door ceremony, but there are many things to think about if you look to rent this property for a wedding.

1. Do you care if you are overcharged for rooms your quests don't rent?
2. Do you care that the rooms are a 1 star room?
3. Do you care that the owners don't take very good care of the grounds?
4. Are you willing to end your reception by 11:00 PM because the Owners live on the grounds.
5. Are you willing to do your own clean up?
The views of the water can be beautiful if the weather is good, but is it worth the hassle we had to put up with and the early ending of the reception? NO - Look elsewhere, there are many other places with views.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The inn is on a bluff over looking lake Michigan. The view is beautiful. No beach access is a drawback, but they have a nice pool. Rooms are ok, nothing special. One of our rooms had an odd oder, but we just tried to ignore it. Prices seem a little pricey for what you get, but I guess you're paying for the view. Have stayed there for our vacation the last 2 years, and we have enjoyed our stay. We do like the view, and the proximity to town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3 story building, which seemed to be one the newer (newer compared to other ones on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Worst place ever to stay! Our bed had blood stained sheets and the air conditioning unit did not work. When we informed the staff they were rude and unapologetic! They did nothing to fix the problems. We will NOT be going back! The only thing this place has going for it is the beautiful view.....breathtaking! It does not, however, make up for the rude staff and run down rooms. It's a shame!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Visited Lake Bluff Inn and Suites with my family for Labor Day weekend. We really enjoyed this place and plan to return next summer. The room we stayed in was spacious, bright, and clean. It had a beautiful view of Lake Michigan and a bathtub Jacuzzi that my son and daughter really had fun playing in. There was a sandbox, swing set, and a kid's pool that was perfect for my children. The secretary was very helpful in explaining where the beach and great places to eat are located in South Haven. They also provide a large breakfast with a good variety of foods. Thank you for a great vacation!!!

Room Tip: The 3 story building has great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were pleased with our decision to stay at Lake Bluff Inn and Suites. We were looking for a suite-type set-up as we were traveling with in-laws and toddlers. We chose this one particularly because it let us break up the week as we only could stay for a few days. Then when we saw the negative reviews on Trip Advisor, I was nervous (we had already booked a room at that point). I was so relieved when arriving as the lobby is very clean and more modernly outfitted. The morning breakfasts were satisfactory. We didn't swim much as it was cool when we were there (mid-June), but we used the pool table and ping pong table, the kids' swing set and sandbox, and the picnic tables outside. The view was beautiful.

The suite itself was fine enough. We had to call about ants in our room and had to be vigilant about putting any opened food in sealed containers or the refrigerator. The carpet was okay, no spots or visual dirt, though it wasn't brand new. Would be a better asset for them to not have carpet I believe. The furniture and bedding was again a bit dated but adequate for the price and flexibility the place offered. One receptionist was not very friendly but not rude. Others, particularly housekeeping were pleasant.

I would stay here again. It is a very good deal for all that comes with the place. We were certainly pleased with our trip and Lake Bluff Inn met our needs.

Room Tip: We had very nice large suite facing the bluff/lake (on the one-story side of the building).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I have never been to a worse hotel in my life. For starters we had to walk up three flights of stairs to get to our room. Secondly, the fridge took two hours to turn on and get cold. Nextly, you can never get the air conditioner to a good temperature to be comfortable. Their wifi went in and out without warning. The breakfast had barely any protein, their juice tasted terrible. Ice costs 25 cents(what a rip off.) If you want to get into the hot tub you had to ask the people at the front desk. Their hot tub temperature when we go their was 106 degrees farenhite. And by the end of our stay it was at 92 degrees. This hotel also gave me a cough and sore throught that I still have today.They also frown upon you using the breakfast area after hours. We asked to use it to play a game of cards and we were rudely denied. After about an hour they let us in though. But the whole hour that we were in their the lady was looking at the clock, it was as if she couldn't wait to get us out of their. We also wanted to use the computer to watch the Tiger game, but we were denied that also. Lastly if you want to print anything it costs you $.50. Also the rec room was hotter then the actual outside temperature. The only upside was the free ping-pong in the game room.

Room Tip: Save yourself some money and don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Bluff Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Bluff Inn and Suites

Address: 76648 11th Ave., South Haven, MI 49090
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Lake Bluff Hotel South Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Bluff Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.