We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Bluff Inn and Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Save
You added Lake Bluff Inn and Suites to your Saves list
76648 11th Ave., South Haven, MI 49090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I thought all of the negative reviews for this place were pretty extreme! The property is beautiful and the room that we had was fine...no awful smells or anything. I do agree that it could use some updating, but this place is a great place for families to hang out outside, grill, and watch some beautiful sunsets. The pool was nice and the breakfast too. If you're looking for something upscale, I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    5
    18
    22
See reviews for
43
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manhattan,il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Don't know how this place stays in business. People are so rude, rooms smell and dirty.
Its a shame cause the view and property are beautiful. Needs total renovation and new owners that know customer service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Buyer beware! They don't give refunds after 2 weeks before check-in, so, if you go there and find your room smells strongly (I thought possibly mold), as I did, they'll still try to keep your money. Other problems, in addition to the overpowering odor: abrasive staff (when they even bothered to look up to acknowledge you were in the room), low-security rooms in exposed cottages, no nearby convenience stores, restaurants etc. Website is deceptive. Avoid!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I'm not a fan. When we first stepped in my wife immediately noticed the smell of mildew in the room. We were hoping it was just a smell (it was not strong and we got used to it quickly) but then the wife had to take an antihistamine in the middle of the night because she was having some sort of allergic reaction to something in the room (we suspect mildew because we didn't have any problem any other time on the trip while outdoors.

The decor was very odd as well. Granite counter top in the mini kitchen but super low end carpeting and sheets. The towels in our room had the name of the hotel stamped on them in permanent ink in a prominent not real classy "Don't steal me" kind of way.

And the most unforgivable thing in my opinion was the complete lack of sound insulation. The wife and I were watching some TV around midnight at a very reasonable volume when we received some very loud bangs on our shared wall with the next room apparently indicated we were being too loud. This was later confirmed by the conversations that we could hear through the wall (that they were having in a normal speaking voice) the following morning.

For what I paid for a room I would expect a hotel room of higher caliber. Indeed, our room seemed to have more in common with very nicely renovated shed. If anyone else I know gets married there we'll stay someplace else.

(Great view though)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Wow. This has to be the WORST place I have ever stayed. Bar none.

We checked in after the drive from Chicago, only to spend at least 10 minutes trying to find our room. We were in room 34. It would be logical that room 34 would not be past room 45, right? Ehhhhhh....let's not jump to conclusions. We had to walk past room 42, 43, 44, 45, then 33, THEN found room 34. What?

At this point we were already creeped out by our surroundings. As we slid the key into the lock (yes...they have actual keys, not keycards, we didn't know what to expect. Well....let's say we weren't greeted by a finely appointed, or even clean, room.

The room looks like something out of the mid 70's. The bathroom is an absolute joke. The bath towel is about the size of our hand towels at home and they appear to be at least 20 years old. There are no bars of soap or bottle of shampoo. Instead, there are dispensers. In the shower, there is a dispenser for "Euro Bath" which is, according to the label, a "European body wash." Of course, it was empty when I attempted to shower. My wife called the front desk and was told that "there are no bars of soap, but a "thing" in the shower to use." She told her she knew and that the "thing" was empty. They said they'd send someone to fill it...never happened.

The worst part of it all is that they charged us $109 a night for this hellhole and took payment up front. I don't know how in the hell they can get away with charging as much as they do, but somehow they do it.

Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We had our wedding there in July and it was the most gorgeous and idylic setting. The backdrop of the lake was perfect for our ceremony. Our guests enjoyed the property and are looking forward to returning for a visit this summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed one night and this motel was exactly what we were looking for. We stayed in Room #6, luxury suite with 2 bedrooms. We wanted a separate bedroom so that our infant could go to sleep early and we could have dinner and watch a movie in a separate room. The rooms, bathroom, fridge, stove and microwave were all clean and updated.
The location was beautiful with enough green space for kids to run around. The pool and hot tub were closed for the season and yes the pool is outdoors (the website does not say that).
The continental breakfast was decent with bagels, eggs, cereal, juice etc. Staff/management was very accomodating and offered me juice after the breakfast was closed.
I would stay again in the same suite - it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Bluff Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Bluff Inn and Suites

Address: 76648 11th Ave., South Haven, MI 49090
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Lake Bluff Hotel South Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Bluff Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.