We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thirsty Perch Grill

Thirsty Perch Grill
123 Main, South Haven, MI 49090-1483
+1 269-639-8000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 60 Restaurants in South Haven
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Service was slow. The restaurant was out of quite of few selections, but in all fairness, there was a large weekend event in South Haven. That being said, the perch was average.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    44
    36
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a place to eat. Everywhere went went to had a 1 1/2 - 3 hour wait. We ended up stumbling across the thirsty perch.

I am not a seafood person so I was a little iffy on eating here. But wow the food was great. We got the lobster Mac and cheese. This was awesome ( even for someone who hates lobster) my husband got the oysters and he loves them. For dinner I got the grilled chicken salad. It was huge! My husband got crab legs and a steak for dinner. The crab legs were cooked perfectly. ( again I ate some and I don't normally like seafood) he steak was also cooked perfectly.

If I had to complain about anything it would have to be the drink I ordered. It was so strong I couldn't drink it.

The food is a little pricey but worth it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lack of service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We come to South Haven often and have tried The Thirsty Perch on 2 different occasions. Both times we sat down and waited for 20 minutes for a server to come to our table. The food was disappointing, my baked potato was reheated, probably from the previous day, because it was hard and cold on the inside. Overall it was a very disappointing experience and we will not be returning to the Thirsty Perch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I ate there last week and had a special salmon dish that was not on the regular menu. I would have to say it was probably the best Salmon that I have had in a restaurant in a very long time. It was a bit more expensive for their menu items then I thought it would be. The service was very good good. I would probably go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Expensive Average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Thirsty Perch food is average, and it's more expensive than other restaurants in South Haven which have better food. We've been there twice in the last 2 months and have not been impressed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Perch Grill also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Thirsty Perch Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thirsty Perch Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.