We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything great (except for noise in the a.m.)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HawksHead Restaurant

HawksHead Restaurant
523 HawksNest Drive, South Haven, MI 49090
(269) 639-2121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 60 Restaurants in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Northwest Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Everything great (except for noise in the a.m.)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We needed a last minute reservation. On either Thurs. or Fri. we booked a room for Saturday night. Nothing closer to Lake Michigan was available. We stayed in 2nd floor room #4 which was named The Dogleg Links, and the total cost was $172.80. That's a little more than we like to spend but hey, it's July and the inn is on a golf course about 7 miles from downtown South Haven & Lake MIchigan. The queen size bed was very very comfortable. The bathroom was large. Decent size flat screen tv. The room itself was very nice. The complimentary continental breakfast was brought to our room. Breakfast in bed was a treat! We specified 9:00 which was the latest time. It consisted of one bowl of fresh mixed fruit, 2 scones (one was chocolate filled), one large muffin, juice, and tea, coffee, etc. You could get hard boiled eggs, yogurt with granola, and one other item that I can't remember for a price. We didn't eat in the restaurant this time, but we've eaten there twice in the past. It was very good then. We don't golf and we aren't early risers. The inn got quite noisey in the morning between 7 and 7:30. If this is the norm, then next time we will stay elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    20
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterton, Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Family Vacation in July”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The reservation person, Beckah, is terrific and the setting looking at the ravine was gorgeous. We had hoped to eat on theation but they had just cleaned it. Our party of eight all ordered different menu items. The Boom Shrimp was absolutely fabulous as were the crab cakes. The shrimp could easily be shared. The bread was warm and spectacular. Be careful you only have one piece! I had the rib eye steak and although it was tasty, I would order it with only a little blue cheese as it overpowered the taste of the meat. The salmon and trout were exceptional and the filet was done just right. One person had the chicken "bowl." and it was a huge portion, probably enough for three servings. The only disappointment was our eighth ordered the scallops and they were late coming out of the kitchen. Our two bottles of wine were delicious and our waitress Andrea, was absolutely first class. She was attentive, friendly, and efficient. Ask for her. Holly was also great and took our family picture. Overall, I would say this is one of the best restaurants in the South Haven area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

What's not to like about HawksHead? We have stayed there several times over the past few years and love it. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The lounge is cozy and the staff friendly and the restaurant is one of the best in the area. The golf course is challenging and fun at the same time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

this is a great restaurant on good golf course five minutes from the lake. a new chef has everything in mind for good presentation and tastes. very good dishes and service!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at the Inn at Hawkshead for one night. Everything was very clean and peaceful. The staff was very friendly. We do not golf, but we enjoyed the restaurant for lunch one day, and the food was very good. The dining room was very nice, and we enjoyed watching the birds at the bird feeders just outside the dining room windows. Downtown South Haven was just a short drive down the road, and we liked coming back the peaceful setting of the Inn.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HawksHead Restaurant also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to HawksHead Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HawksHead Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.