We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Point Lighthouse

West Point Lighthouse
364 Cedar Dunes Park Road, West Point, Prince Edward Island C0B 1V0, Canada
902-859-3605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in West Point
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous lighthouse features an inn, a museum and a restaurant.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I took a week to drive around the island and stayed at several different locations. The Westpoint Lighthouse was our first stop. They remodeled a few years ago and the result was a very comfortable and nice accommodations. We had a second story room that had a comfortable bed and balcony I opted not to stay in the actual lighthouse. The bathroom isn't large but was roomy enough for my husband and I both to get dressed. You are right on the beach so taking a walk for beachcombing was easy. We drove the mile down to the Sandals restaurant which was delicious! It is a little pricey but we were on vacation and expected as much. You won't find burgers and fries there but is a casual dining atmosphere. While at the lighthouse look at the photo albums of the history of the lighthouse and the remodeling they did. Also if you can take the tour of the lighthouse the view is stunning and it is free with your stay. The only complaint we would have is the breakfast is very typical hotel continental breakfast with cold cereals, breads, hard boiled eggs and muffins. Make sure you bring mosquito spray as after it started to get dark we couldn't enjoy the balcony due to the mosquitos.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This lighthouse stands out from the others due to its unique shape and black and white striped pattern.

The location is magnificent - very nice beaches at Cedar Dune Provincial Park - and the lighthouse is worth the visit.

A note regarding lighthouses on PEI: once you've visited one or two, they're all pretty similar, unless you're a historian, in which case reading up on the history of each might make it worth a visit to each. For us, a family of four (two kids, aged 6 and 9) visiting two lighthouses was perfect.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in a room on the second floor. The room had been recently renovated and was very comfortable. It had air conditioning, satellite tv and complimentary Internet, and is located right on the beach. We thought we had lost our camera in the room and the staff made every effort to help us find it (it turned up under the seat in the car). We recieved an email about an hour after we left advising us that we had left some lottery tickets in the room.

Sandals restaurant is right up the beach within walking distance. The food and service is excellent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Loved all the light houses on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We purchased a mapof the island with all the locations of the lighthouses. It took a whole but we got to see everyone and they all are unique and worth seeing!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our best vacation ever!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I had to choose one of the dates listed, but we have been to the Island four or five times. i family loves it. We stayed at the Light house up in the tower with our three teen daughters--junior high through high school. That particular trip was at least 12 years ago. We have not forgotten that wonderful experience--it comes up often in our conversations. We can't say enough about the wonderful people who run the place. Each time we go back, we always drive there for lunch and shop just for the sake of remembering our visit there. We still have the hundreds of pieces of sea glass we picked up on the beach. Best vacation ever!!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Point Lighthouse also viewed

Wellington, Prince Edward Island
Stanley Bridge, Prince Edward Island
 
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
Souris, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to West Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Point Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.