We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Point Lighthouse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Point Lighthouse Inn
Save
You added West Point Lighthouse Inn to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   364 Cedar Dunes Park Road Lot 8, West Point, Prince Edward Island C0B1V0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 West Point B&B and Inns
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a well run facility in a beautiful location. I only wish we had stayed a couple of nights and not just one.
First of all the location is absolutely scenic, fairly secluded and quiet with only the sounds of the surf to put you to sleep. The view out the window of our second floor room was like a seascape and you could see the eastern shore of New Brunswick across the strait.
Second, the room was extremely well done, very clean, quite roomy, beds were very comfortable, and had lots of nice amenities.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast provided lots of choices and was more than adequate. Since there are no restaurants close by, the Inn is providing a limited menu of dinner options and was quite pleasant. Instead of driving a fair distance to get our dinner, it gave us more time to enjoy lots of beachwalking. There are also lots of nice trails to walk in the park that surrounds the inn.
While we were there, we climbed the lighthouse and enjoyed the fascinating displays of lighthouse equipment and historic displays depicting the history of the lighthouse and its keepers.
To sum it up, if you like lighthouses and the sound of the surf, you just have to put this place on your travel itinerary.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor of the Inn have the best view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Lenox, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Booked the tower room for our last night on PEI; so glad we did. Lovely room with 3 great views of the water. The bathroom had a big soaking tub-wonderful! Cracked the windows to hear the waves on the shore. What a wonderful sunset we saw from the nearby beach where we had a romantic stroll. The breakfast was called 'continental', but we helped ourselves to hot hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt & muffins. The friendly keeper even gave us a box of chocolates as we left. All in all, a fine experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Orignal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked 1 night in the Tower room and 1 night in the extended part of the Inn. It is quite a feeling to fall asleep with the sounds of the waves hitting the shore. The place is so quiet and relaxing. The Tower room on the 2nd floor is well decorated and the room is very clean and well maintained. You also have acess to the museum on your way to the top of the lighthouse. The beach is quite long and you can walk for many kilometres. The other room is more modern style and is also very clean and it has a balcony to relax on.The breakfast has a lot to offer. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for only 1 night on our 8 day trip to PEI. It is indeed a great place to stay - there's only about 24 rooms so you have the beach almost to yourself - all the rooms face the beach and water, but the 2nd floor rooms give you a much better view. Our room was very nice - good amenities - but having the balcony overlooking the beach was what made it for us. We also found that this is one of the rare lighthouses that isn't red and white - altho all the red and white ones are distinct from one another. The provincial park is very close by and while it seemed full, the beach was never crowded - at least after 3 pm when we arrived. The breakfast in the am was great - really fresh blueberries and strawberries, hard boiled eggs, many cereals, oatmeal, muffins (they were great), danish, etc., etc. The one drawback for tourists from the US as we were - you can eat dinner at the lighthouse or you can drive for we don't know how long to find another place for dinner. My best guess is 30 miles or so. This is in the northern end of the island and it does get more remote out here. Actually, dinner was fine - choices were only 3 but meal was cooked well and the server/chef was a wonderful lady who was so pleasant and nice to talk with. I wouldn't let the dinner situation stop me from staying at this Inn again. It was a treat. I'm attaching a picture of the lighthouse w/inn as well as the great sunset we had that night while the blue/full moon arose on the other side of the inn. You can't beat that!!!

Room Tip: Definitely the 2nd floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan, Maine
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had booked a one night stay here as part of our Atlantic Canada tour on our motorbikes. We had visited this place last year and were determined to return and spend the night. What a treat! They are winding down for the season and Connie at the front desk was standing in as the regular staff had all returned to school. However, we were greeted warmly and shown to our beautiful room in the inn (rather than the lighthouse). These rooms appear newly renovated and have the advantage of all having balconies that overlook the beach. The room was spotless and comfortable with modern furnishings. The beds were incredibly comfy and we slept like tops to the sounds of the surf. An added bonus for us was that a small menu for dinner was available and is cooked to order. We both had a simple, delicious meal served in the tiny dining room. Several other couples did the same. This is a nice option as the one restaurant down the street did not open this year and there are no other restaurants close by. Unfortunately a major rain storm blew through the following morning making the prospect of leaving on our motorbikes very unappealing. Thankfully they had room to accommodate us for another night and Connie and Joanne were most anxious to make sure we were comfortable, even serving up some delicious clam chowder for lunch. Breakfasts both mornings were more than adequate with yoghurt, fresh fruit, croissants, boiled eggs all available along with cereals etc.
I hope this place does well, I understand it is currently under temporary management (not that we would have known it). It is owned by the local community and is a great way of allowing people to experience this beautiful part of the island in a memorable way.

Room Tip: There are two rooms in the lighthouse which we did not see. The inn rooms are modern and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A truly amazing place!
We arrived for a 2 night stay. If you love lighthouses, beaches, and the ocean you'll enjoy this place. We had a room with an outside entrance which gives you access directly to the beach, I mean like 25' feet away! The rooms are clean, bright and modern with a fridge and huge bath. Water pressure is a bit low and cable isn't extensive but who cares in a place like this! Guests have 24 hr access to the FUNCTIONING lighthouse and we got several awesome pics at sunset from the top. A hot breakfast is included. We are already talking about returning next year.

Room Tip: 2 rooms are available directly in the actual lighthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife, 2 teenage daughters, and I stayed at the West Point Lighthouse Inn during our tip-to-tip cycling tour of PEI. If you are cycling on the Confederation Trail, be forewarned that the lighthouse is approximately 12 miles from O'Leary, and that (at least the night we were there) that there is no restaurant. We called ahead and purchased groceries in O'Leary. My wife and I stayed in the Tower room on the second floor of the lighthouse, a unique experience. After cycling from Tignish to North Cape and down to West Point, a hot bath in the claw foot tub was truly appreciated. The room remained cool as there were windows on 3 walls. There was a great view out to the water from both the bathroom and the bedroom; unfortunately it rained the night we stayed and sunset was non-existent. The sunrise in the morning, however, was beautiful, and the beach was directly outside the door of the inn. Our daughters stayed in one of the first floor seaside rooms which was smaller than the room in the lighthouse but did have a refrigerator. Breakfast was average with oatmeal, cold cereal, hard boiled eggs, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Point Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Point Lighthouse Inn

Address: 364 Cedar Dunes Park Road Lot 8, West Point, Prince Edward Island C0B1V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > West Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Point Lighthouse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canada's first Inn in a Lighthouse consisting of 14 rooms B&B. Sleep in a lighthouse, drift off to the sound of gently rolling waves, enjoy spectacular sunsets... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Point Lighthouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.