We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Broom Tavern

The Broom Tavern
32 High Street, Broom, Alcester B50 4HL, England
01789 778199
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Broom
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Alcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

What a fantastic bunch!!
Pre booked for a group. All were catered for.
Was professional throughout.
Food was plentiful and gorgeous. High quality, tasty, presentation fabulous.
Can't say enough good.
Will definitely be returning again soon.
Thank u!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    27
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

As a resident of Broom, this was my first visit to the Broom Tavern since it re-opened, and I have to say I was extremely impressed, we all were.
We went there for a Sunday lunch to celebrate my father's birthday, so wanted it to be a little bit special and we weren't disappointed! We were welcomed with friendship and a smile. The atmosphere in there was gentle and warm, perfect for Sunday lunchtime. The waitresses were polite and friendly and very knowledgeable about the food! They went that extra mile to assist my brother, who has a wheat intolerance, to provide a jus to replace the gravy!
The 28-day aged Herefordshire beef was thickly cut, perfectly cooked and extremely tender. The delicious roast potatoes had been cooked in goose fat and rosemary. The vegetables were seasonal and perfectly cooked and the Yorkshire puddings were absolutely massive. All in all it was one of the best pub meals I have ever had. In fact it's unfair to call this a pub meal, this was gastronomy at its finest.
If you're looking for an alternative to the Seagrave Arms or the Kingham Plough, two excellent gastro pubs, I would highly recommend the Broom Tavern.
Full marks to the bar staff, the waitresses and of course, the excellent chef! Thank you all for a first-class experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We ate at the Broom tavern last night (Saturday) and we were very impressed with the food and the pub! The barmaid was very friendly when we entered and gave us the option to go straight to our table or have a drink first. After being seated, we looked through the two menus and we found it very hard to choose. There is a great mix of the family favourites, mixed with the more gastro pub focused dishes which I thought sounded amazing. After waiting for about 10 minutes, we ordered but were then told that there were no rump steaks left. This was a bit disappointing that we were not told this when sitting down, but a minor niggle. We opted then for the more expensive rib eye and the game pie. Unfortunately we then waited 45 minutes for our food, with no apology. However, the food was great! The game pie was beautifully tender and the pastry was very buttery, which was great, The triple cooked chips were excellent and I would say took me back to the old school somewhat! The quality of the food is excellent and the freshness of the food really comes through. I would disagree with the comments on tripadvisor that tables are too close together, as this adds to the cosiness of the pub. We really liked the atmosphere as the clientele were varied and really felt welcomed by the staff. Overall, we were very impressed with the Broom Tavern. I merely think that the young waitresses need a little more training and confidence and this place will be hard to beat. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten at the Broom Tavern on a number of occasions and last night was no disappointment.

Great food and relaxing atmosphere in a historic old building that has recently been refurbished.

Specials board adds some interesting additions to the menu.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Came here for the first time, for a family meal. Brilliant atmosphere, very friendly & warming. You have a choice from two menus, Bar & Restaurant, which means there's something for everyone. The meal was excellent quality, beautifully cooked & presented. This place is obviously popular, (very busy Saturday night), so definitely book in advance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Broom Tavern also viewed

Alcester, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 
Alcester, Warwickshire
Alcester, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Broom Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Broom Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.