We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant
11456 Marsh Road, Shelbyville, MI 49344   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Shelbyville B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Indiana
1 review
“Exceptional Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed two nights at Bay Pointe Inn on a great Groupon deal. We'd never been to Gun Lake at all, so we went in blind. We were very happy with the hotel and restaurant (which is where guests receive free breakfast).

Pros:
- Even in the winter, the lake scenery is pretty.
- Everything appears and smells CLEAN. No smoking or pets are allowed.
- The decor in our room ("standard superior"/queen) was fresh.
- Free coffee/tea/cocoa, cookies, and apples in the lobby!
- In addition to the continental breakfast bar, Bay Pointe offers made-to-order omelets served right to your table. Delicious. And FREE.

Cons:
- The walls are quite thin. You can hear your neighbor's TV, shower, etc. Not good... But maybe this isn't true of the rest of the hotel.
- The room was hard to cool down enough to sleep comfortably.
- The standard rooms have no microwave or refrigerator, so don't plan on bringing popcorn or reheating leftovers from your dinner out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thank you again for visiting Bay Pointe Inn and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    48
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
39
93
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Booked with a Groupon and was given the room type I booked. Complaint was registered by staff but nothing done and no compensation offered. I was given no options and treated like a second class visitor because I was getting a deal and should be happy about it. Their opinion.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Guest purchased Groupon, Option 4: $309 for a romance package that includes a bottle of champagne, fresh rose petals on bed, and a $50 dining credit for two at Terrace Grille Restaurant (up to a $503 value). When guest called to make reservation we were sold out of Ultimate Suites for that particular weekend. Guest was told that we could move them to a Lakeside Deluxe Suite at no additional charge and that we would honor the Groupon for that room type as well. Guest confirmed this was okay verbally. Guest was sent a confirmation letter stating such, our policies, etc.... guest was sent a reminder letter 2 weeks prior to reservation stating room type, policies, etc... When guest arrived, she (wife) was upset regarding the room change. Explained that other guest (husband) had made this reservation, confirmed the room change on desired date and received confirmations. Value on the 2 night stay in the modified room (Deluxe Suite) is $503 - the same as the value on the Ultimate Suite. Would not issue guest a refund as Guest had the ability to cancel stay at time of check-in, without penalty. They decided to stay therfore voiding any refund possibility from Groupon as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I came across this cozy resort through Living Social, it was a 2 night package deal, we decided to take for my birthday, & go to the new Gun Lake Casino. We sure hit the jackpot when we found this place! Very nice clean room with a balcony overlooking the lake. although we never had the chance to use it they have a pool & hot tub. The staff was very friendly & attentive. The complimentary full breakfast was a welcoming surprise! made to order omelets, along with danishes, fruits, bagels, cereals, yogurts juices & coffee etc. also served biscuits & sausage gravy one morning & chocolate & pecan pancakes the next. The dinners were also very good. the restaurant was very upscale & cozy. The service was excellent! They even sent over a birthday dessert. I remember saying to my husband, I almost feel like royalty. We will defiantly return to this resort again!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lake are best. 3rd floor is probably the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments! Our goal is to give the best guest experience possible, every stay, and we are so pleased you enjoyed yours. Hope to see you soon! PS - Happy Birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Wonderful establishment! Very clean. Rooms were very nice, beautiful view from the balcony of the lakeside superior room. Staff was very attentive. Food was great, steak was nice size & prepared perfectly. Also enjoyed the chicken & sausage pasta. Would have liked some potatoes or something else to go with the omelette at breakfast if I have to find something to upgrade ;). Will definitely return in warmer months!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for the awesome review! We hope to see you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Rockwood, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel was a little off the beaten path but worth the extra 10 miles of driving! The staff are amazing! The pool was warm, the hot tub was a little small but nice, the restaurant was lovely! they have a complimentary breakfast which includes an omelet made to your liking, fruit, yogurt, bagels, sometimes scrambled eggs and gravy.... the dinner was awesome too. the view off the balcony was sweet...overlooking the lake! will definitely return...

Room Tip: the lake view rooms cost a little more but the view off the balcony was great and prolly even better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
What a great review! Thank you for choosing Bay Pointe Inn and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The. Getaway weekend was excellent. The dinner was wonderful, room, rose petals and service were outstanding. The indoor pool and hot tub were relaxing. The workout room was great. The snacks and hot coffee in the lobby was a welcome break after traveling and between meals.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing Bay Pointe Inn! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at Bay Pointe Inn for the second time this past summer.Bay Pointe
Inn is our favorite place to stay in Michigan. Rooms are comfortable and clean and hospitality
is of the up most. We try to stay once a year as it is hard for us to get there in the winter. Entertainment is great and the restaurant has excellent food. My favorite is the room over looking Gun Lake. Complimentary breakfast is excellent with omelets and fresh baked bakery.I give
Bay Pointe Inn gets an A+++++ from me and my husband.

Room Tip: Over looking Gun Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meagan F, General Manager at Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for the awesome review! We are glad you continue to stay with us! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant

Address: 11456 Marsh Road, Shelbyville, MI 49344
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shelbyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hospitality. Abundant Relaxation.Discover family owned Bay Pointe Inn on beautiful Gun Lake. An overnight stay in one of our tranquil rooms includes a deluxe breakfast and gorgeous lake views. Find sanctuary at our BoatHouse Villa, our historic dream escape. Our acclaimed Terrace Grille restaurant provides casual dining with fare that is handmade, from scratch - pure and truly delicious. Centrally located, Bay Pointe Inn is 30 minutes from Grand Rapids and Kalamazoo and halfway between Chicago and Detroit. It is the perfect location for hosting your Weekend Escape, Corporate Retreat or Social Event. We invite you to experience “One of Michigan’s Top Resorts”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant Hotel Shelbyville
Bay Pointe Inn And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Pointe Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.