We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis from a storm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   51620 Shelby Parkway, Shelby Township, MI 48315   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shopping Package!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An Oasis from a storm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

I was booked at another hotel when a Summer storm came through Detroit and the entire block was without power. With no assistance from the hotel manager, I got out my IPhone and used tripadvisor to locate another hotel. This Hampton is a further ride from the Tech Center but worth the drive. Great Service, clean rooms and always a variety for Breakfast. I actually paid less for this room then the hotel I had booked.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    34
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
54
25
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grandville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

From the moment we walked through the door, we felt like we were family. We were greeted warmly and sincerely. Our room was well appointed and spotless. We received a phone call from the front desk shortly after we unpacked to ask if the room met our satisfaction. The room was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed here for a short weekend in March (my wife and I) and could not have been more pleased. The hotel is gorgeous, inside and out. We had stayed here last year for our anniversary, in a suite and were blown away at that time.
This time, we chose a more standard king-room. The room was big, very clean and decorated very tastefully. The bed was ultra comfortable and the flat-screen TV was huge.
We swam in the pool, which was large and very clean, and the hot tub, which was also very clean and enjoyable.
The breakfast buffet was acombination of cold cereals, bagels, muffins, etc. and hot eggs and potatoes. Well done!!
I can't say enough about this hotel. Do NOT hesitate---STAY HERE!! :)

Room Tip: All rooms are oversized
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

We stayed one night in early November and never found any problems. The staff was very friendly and helpful and printed off directions to several shopping areas for us. We chose Hampton Inn because we knew we would get breakfast, however, the bonus was that this was a Tuesday and they serve complimentary food on Tuesday evening. This was a real surprise and delicious. Although the location was a bit tricky to find because we were not familiar with the area. All and all this was excellent accommodation and it certainly added to our enjoyable travelling experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis IN
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Still smelled new! Double queen room was SMALL. Saw the handicap and suite doubles, so much more spacious. Yes, the 42" TV was nice but limited number of channels by today's standards and not in hi def that I could see. WiFi was SLOW to almost unusable in our end room, wired was fine. Bathroom was large as was the tub. But water pressure was low, took forever to fill the tub. I have the same shower head so I know what it should do, barely had any message action. Biggest room complaint was HVAC. Typical unit, rather quiet for an Amana, but on a screwy wall thermostat with no heat/cool selector. We were there in 20° weather. Raise the temp and you get blasted with heat, drop it a degree and the A/C comes on. Sometimes cycles back & forth between heat & cool on its own. And it blows that cold air on the person sitting at the desk. Hope the owners know what this system is costing them in utility bills and compressor wear from having it on in cold weather.

Breakfast was great, good food and plenty of room to sit. Front desk staff all very friendly. Pool area large but air temp and pool temp cool, hot tub was great.

Out in the boonies but perfect for us all at a family wedding. There is shopping & dining nearby.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed in 2 queen room on Easter night. Everything was very clean and quiet. Bedding was high quality. Pool was clean and comfortable. Breakfast had several choices including scrambled eggs and a hot egg/bacon/bagel type open sandwich. Staff was especially friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, GA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

On a recent trip to Shelby Township to visit family - more family members than expected showed up so some of us had to stay at a hotel for a couple nights. The hotel was about a 5 minute drive away from our family's house. The rooms were so comfortable and exceptionally clean. The tv was HUGE!
Check-in was a breeze and the warm cookies were delicious. At breakfast Bridget was so nice and took the extra time to ask about our visit.
This is by far one of the nicest Hampton Inn's we've stayed at and look forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township

Address: 51620 Shelby Parkway, Shelby Township, MI 48315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Shelby Township
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelby Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn-Detroit-Utica/Shelby Township with Complimentary Shuttle Service, free hot breakfast, business center, fitness center and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township Hotel Shelby Township

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Detroit / Utica - Shelby Township, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.