We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavy beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbush Brewing Co.

Greenbush Brewing Co.
5885 Sawyer Rd, Sawyer, MI
2694051076
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Sawyer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: 269.277.1091
Grand Ledge, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Heavy beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were here on a Tuesday around 4pm. The place was pretty empty...good thing too, as it does not seat a lot of people. We sat at the bar and tried a flight of 6 beers which was a great way to sample their assortment...and a generous amount to be shared by two people. My husband and I do like a variety of Michigan beers but found that we liked only 3 of the 6 we sampled. Every beer is a little heavy (nothing less than 6%), some were even harsh. I asked for some information about them but didn't get a person who could really tell me much. The Cubano was a very good sandwich and my husband enjoyed the turkey bacon melt and the baked beans. We give the food an A but the beer a C. I know our opinion on the beer differs from many other reviews but that is why you are checking trip advisor!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    45
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Come for the beer, stay for the meat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Being a brewery fan, I was interested in trying Greenbush's beer and seeing the place. I enjoyed a couple of the IPA's and ordered a cuban sandwich. The meat! My god THE MEAT! They smoke their own and I loved both the Cubano and the Turkey Bacon sandwich. God bless them, I think they make their own bacon too. This is what a brewery/eatery should be!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great beer, lively atmosphere, ok food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Beer was amazing. The place was packed, but they had a Lego table for kids and games as well as plenty of bar seating. The food was moderate keeping them from earning a 5 but that was the only thing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawyer
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Greenbush Brewing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The variety of craft beers is excellent. New brews are introduced frequently. Food menu has many choices, mostly sandwiches, but more substantial items as well. Always good! Service is fast and friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A competitor for best beer in SW Mich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stopped here on my way back to Lansing from Chicago. It was definitely a great stop!

I cant say much for the food. I ordered the pizza and was presented with a hot cheesy greasy mess. The meal my buddy ordered though did appear to be nicely done and he really enjoyed it.

The beer is a whole other story. The beer selection first off is incredible. I would compare it to that of Founders or Bell's. They have a vast variety of styles and options on tap. Including some beers they don't distribute which is always an incentive to stop in. I forget the name of the beer already but it was one of the most unique beers I've had in quite some time. The IPA with some Pear flavoring was truly exceptional and a must try for anyone who remotely likes IPAs.

Location is also great. Right off the highway. Brewery itself is smaller but really nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenbush Brewing Co. also viewed

Sawyer, Berrien County
Sawyer, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
Union Pier, Berrien County
 

Been to Greenbush Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbush Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.