We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great beer hall with way above average food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbush Brewing Co.

Greenbush Brewing Co.
5885 Sawyer Rd, Sawyer, MI
2694051076
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Sawyer
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: 269.277.1091
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“a great beer hall with way above average food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

ate and drank here twice during our stay in the area. both my wife and I are big fans of the craft beer industry/culture. Greenbush is a stellar example of a small local brewer. The interior is high ceilinged and kind of rustic industrial in feel. They have a long bar and lots of tables, seating maybe 75 (?). They also have an outside area. We were there during high season and although they were very busy, we did not have to wait either visit. They have a good variety of beers and ales, from the very hoppy to the dark and malty.

A huge added bonus is that the food we had was superior to that we have had at most brewpubs. Seems that brewers are often so focused on the beer that they forget to complement their fine efforts there with equally fine efforts from the kitchen. In particular, though it was only a side, the romaine salad with homemade dill accented Ranch dressing was outstanding, in presentation, flavor and cost.

Nothing like Greenbush in the area. Go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    39
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
middlebury in
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect micro brew in michigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went to Greenbush brewer Saturday for a couple of beers and lunch. Now I know why this place was so crowded. Everyone who works there is so pleasant. If anyone was ha ing a bad day, you wouldn't know it. They had about 15 beers tapped that day. I had the blueberry ale and an IPA. Both were delicious. For lunch, I had the pulled pork and my husband had the smoked turkey. They we both very good a and reasonably priced. If you are looking for anything besides beer, they do not have it, except for a couple if sodas.
If in the southwest Michigan area, you must make a stop at Greenbush!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Greenbush Brewery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Four of went for beer and sandwiches on a rainy summer afternoon and loved it! Packed with families and couples like us, we waited maybe 20 minutes for a table while friendly bartenders explained our choices. We loved the BBQ and muffalata.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go for the Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a great place for adults. In fact, my wife and I have been here twice. The first time, we had our small kids in tow, and after waiting for 30 minutes, decided it wasn't worth the wait. It really isn't a great place for kids, regardless of the lego table inside. It's loud, and the kids menu is just ok. In fact, it's a brewery that serves food, rather than a restaurant that serves beer. We went back last weekend just the two of us. The atmosphere was lively, and we were glad we scored a table on the outdoor patio, where it wasn't quite as loud.The beer is excellent, and we shared a flight in order to taste six different kinds. I have to say my food was very good, although I was halfway through the flight when it arrived! This is really a great place with character and a friendly staff. Well worth the visit, just might think twice before bringing the little ones.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were in town for a week and went back twice. It was a pleasant place that even my kids were happy at. (they did have a lego table). Its not fancy and the water is self serve, but the beer and the BBQ were great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenbush Brewing Co. also viewed

Sawyer, Berrien County
Sawyer, Berrien County
 
Union Pier, Berrien County
Sawyer, Berrien County
 

Been to Greenbush Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbush Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.