We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soo Locks Lodge & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Soo Locks Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Soo Locks Lodge & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3295 I-75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Negaunee, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A GREAT place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We reserved two rooms and we both enjoyed our stay! The employee's we came in contact with were extremely friendly. The beds and pillows were awesome! Rested so well!! And LOVE the fact of the mini fridge and microwave in the room!!!! Didn't get time to experience the pool/jacuzzi area this visit, but twice a year we visit this area, and first time we've stayed here, but plan on making this hotel our bi-annual destination!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    35
    20
    23
    18
See reviews for
42
45
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

They have a nice lobby. That is pretty much the end of my positive view.
I was staying at another hotel in town for business, but one day was overbooked at that place, so I ended up here for one night. I wouldn't bother coming back. The hotel staff couldn't figure out where my reservation was. When they finally found it, they couldn't figure out who booked it and, though my company had preauthorized payment on a business card, they demanded I pay at the time of check-in. Eventually we got through this, with the manager explaining it as, "Our power went out last night and the computers got messed up." When I got to my room, I found I couldn't lock the door. I realize doors shift with weather, but usually in Michigan this means they don't latch in winter. I could not get the lock to line up with the hole, as it was off by a large margin. Next, this hotel is LOUD. It sounded like there must be someone in the room next to mine doing jumping jacks, but there was no one in the room next to me! I don't know if the noise was from the floor above my room or what, but well into the night it was like a herd of elephants moving through the hotel. Beds were subpar. The breakfast was well below average and boardering on inedible. Next time I'm in town, I'll stay at the Holiday Inn Express instead.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

No longer the Hampton Inn.
After our experience, I'd guess they were 'let go' by corporate. Or they should have been!

First, tried to charge an additional fee for roll-away bed (on phone, offered it free for child, no record when showed up with wife and kids in tow at 11, although they'd already charged credit card). Put us in a different room with 2 beds, instead of king, at originally-agreed upon price. But.....
Out of the frying pan and into the fire....

They could have put us anywhere because the hotel was empty (30% occupancy) but they put us in room 120, where I was awakened regularly - ALL NIGHT LONG! - every 20 minutes, by a loud, throbbing noise like a very heavy chair dragged along floor for 5 seconds right above your head (just enough to wake you up and scare the bejesus out of you!) . Front desk of course had no idea what it was. 10 year old son kept telling me to ignore it - " to pretend we were in one of those fun monster movies!"

He got tired of me jumping awake every time it happened (still was occurring at 8:15 am when 8 year old finally got up) and kid slept on floor rather than jump every time the ceiling rumbled and I awoke.

Paper thin walls. Had to run the air conditioner full time to drown out conversational level talk from adjoining room. They weren't yelling, just talking, but we could hear every word.

Carpets, especially in common areas were filthy. Heat was intolerable in corridors and lobby, (air conditioner in room did help, although controls were obviously broken). How much work does the new management expect a paying guest to do for them?

Anyhow, not sure why they're no longer a Hampton Inn - but if I were the corporate Hampton Inn office, I'd count my lucky stars they left the fold!
Obviously, I will never stay there again. Stick to the chains where there might be some accountability - especially when the properties up and down the street are crying for paying customers. At least I gave them a try, but they failed miserably. I've stayed in more comfortable youth hostels.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

From the moment you walk into this place you realize that this is as good as it gets!!!!! As I mentioned the beds are really like sleeping on a cloud. we splurged and got the jacuzzi suite and had an awesome time. If you get a chance to stay here do it!!!!
Did i Mention how nice the beds were?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

The beds in this hotel were everything we have come to expect in a Hampton Inn. The rooms were very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. The problem was that the floors are very noisy. You can hear people walking, both in your own room and the room above you, even when they are on the carpet. We found this very strange as we have never encountered this in other hotels before.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellison Bay Wi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Stayed there for 3 nights recently and had 2 other rooms for 2 nights for family. The hotel is quite nice, and especially the staff were very helpful and nice. The rooms are decent size, with a mini fridge and microwave. The pool is large but seemed a bit over-chlorinated. Included breakfast was good. The front desk was staffed by Jacklin(?) and she really was helpful and gracious. Breakfast ladies were very attentive. Since the locks are close by, location is good. Rooms at the back of the hotel faced the woods and had a pleasant view. Overall, we would stay again. P.S. we have stayed at 3 other hotels in the area over the last few years and this was definitely the best.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

This hotel has had some renovation and is a good place to stay after seeing the Soo Locks.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soo Locks Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soo Locks Lodge & Suites

Address: 3295 I-75 Business Spur, Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Soo Locks Lodge & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Soo Locks Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soo Locks Lodge And Suites
Soo Locks Hotel Sault Sainte Marie
Hampton Inn Sault Sainte Marie
Sault Sainte Marie Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soo Locks Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.